Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2013, 03:34 PM
Your_friendly_gamer's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 685

My System Specs

Default

yea just ran memtest, and with 9 9 9 27 30 1333mhz and no issues at all. but when i did ran it with xmp i got errors. I also tried all pci e slots for the video cards and the issue is when gaming it shuts down.

Last edited by Your_friendly_gamer; October 27, 2013 at 03:41 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2013, 04:25 PM
Skyllz's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 773

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Your_friendly_gamer View Post
yea just ran memtest, and with 9 9 9 27 30 1333mhz and no issues at all. but when i did ran it with xmp i got errors. I also tried all pci e slots for the video cards and the issue is when gaming it shuts down.
Only when gaming? So under load...

Tried a different power supply? Just in case.
__________________
Is smoke supposed to come out of there?
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2013, 05:09 PM
Your_friendly_gamer's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 685

My System Specs

Default

Yea thats the only thing I havent tried. I was using the same PSU AX 850 on a rampage 3 extreme and an I7 930 at 4.06ghz along with gtx 670 with it. And I had no issues. I really think there is an issue with the board and after I updated the bios to F4, i have not had any success with it at all.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2013, 05:25 PM
Skyllz's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 773

My System Specs

Default

Try unplugging and replugging all, a bad connection on the motherboard maybe?
__________________
Is smoke supposed to come out of there?
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old October 29, 2013, 12:40 PM
Your_friendly_gamer's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 685

My System Specs

Default

Yea I did that last night and tried it. It was looking very good for less than 3 mins when I was playing D3, my barb was slaying some elites and son of a *************** ***************** ************* shut down again. Luckily the great seller is sending me a replacement board today. He is probably pissed off a bit with me. Hopefully I will get it by Thursday and by the weekend I can game again. This was so frustrating.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old October 29, 2013, 03:41 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,634
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Your_friendly_gamer View Post
Yea I did that last night and tried it. It was looking very good for less than 3 mins when I was playing D3, my barb was slaying some elites and son of a *************** ***************** ************* shut down again. Luckily the great seller is sending me a replacement board today. He is probably pissed off a bit with me. Hopefully I will get it by Thursday and by the weekend I can game again. This was so frustrating.
You know it could simply be the power coming out of your wall. I suggest getting a UPS first and foremost and see if that helps.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old October 30, 2013, 06:52 PM
Your_friendly_gamer's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 685

My System Specs

Default

Today, I was so frustrated, I borrowed a friend's AX860, brought the pc upstairs, and used a different outlet. I dont have a UPS. Plugged everything, things looked promising, and now the mobo wont even recognize any hdds or ssd's. I was so mad, I tried every single sata port, sas port, and the sata 3 ports. No help, changed my sata cables, no help. Thought may be the psu is a bust? Took out the ax860, changed all the cables, plugged in the ax850, cleared cmos. And some bs.


This has been the most frustrating experience, I have ever experienced. I am glad I didnt buy a ups as I almost did.

I have packed up the board and its ready to be shipped, just waiting for a replacement board from the seller.

:a ngry2::dot s:
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old October 31, 2013, 08:47 AM
Fudd Rucker's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SSM Ont
Posts: 950

My System Specs

Default

lmao...
__________________
I couldnt think of something snarky or interesting to put here this time around.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old October 31, 2013, 09:04 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,634
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Your_friendly_gamer View Post
Today, I was so frustrated, I borrowed a friend's AX860, brought the pc upstairs, and used a different outlet. I dont have a UPS. Plugged everything, things looked promising, and now the mobo wont even recognize any hdds or ssd's. I was so mad, I tried every single sata port, sas port, and the sata 3 ports. No help, changed my sata cables, no help. Thought may be the psu is a bust? Took out the ax860, changed all the cables, plugged in the ax850, cleared cmos. And some bs.


This has been the most frustrating experience, I have ever experienced. I am glad I didnt buy a ups as I almost did.

I have packed up the board and its ready to be shipped, just waiting for a replacement board from the seller.

:a ngry2::dot s:
You do realize that bad power either from a power supply or from the outlet can cause massive electrical issues to the point of hardware failure? Motherboards are very RARELY ever bad anymore and usually when they are its due to some other failure.

I still say invest in a UPS to protect your shit.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old October 31, 2013, 09:48 AM
Your_friendly_gamer's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 685

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
You do realize that bad power either from a power supply or from the outlet can cause massive electrical issues to the point of hardware failure? Motherboards are very RARELY ever bad anymore and usually when they are its due to some other failure.

I still say invest in a UPS to protect your shit.
You can't be serious? Not sure if you have read all my notes. I have used different things to run on the same outlet, and different outlet.

Before I got this board, I was using a few mins before, Rampage 3 exteme with 930 oc'd to 4.0ghz, with an oc'd gtx 670. There is no way there is an issue there, I have swapped all parts except the mobo and the ups. I am getting adifferent mobo hopefully by tomorrow and lets see if I was right. This mother board had issues from the get go. And i have no idea why are you telling me that there are no issues with mobos again. I change system set ups, at least 2-3 times a month. And the only mobos i've ever had issues with was long time ago 890-fx-ud5, amd stuff and very rarely i had one issue with an asus z77 mobo that I sold to someone. I swapped it for them and they had no issues.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gigabyte GA-H87N-WIFI vs Gigabyte GA-Z87N-WIFI? SAS CPU's and Motherboards 2 September 20, 2013 03:33 PM
using router wifi if PC doesn't have wifi card? Shadowmeph Networking 12 May 4, 2013 05:47 PM
Intel Xeon E5-2680 and GIGABYTE X79S-UP5 Server Level Performance windwithme CPU's and Motherboards 7 October 28, 2012 11:56 AM
RDC over local Wifi vs remote wifi vs 3G Generic User #2 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 3 January 23, 2012 07:14 AM
Thermaltake Launches Low-Profile CPU Cooler SlimX3 Ideal for Low Profile PCs and HTPCs FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 15 April 5, 2010 03:56 PM