Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old October 20, 2013, 06:18 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
1. good.
2. Negative; there should be 3 sata power cables; furthermore, each cable has 3 connections. You could in theory power up to 9 HDDs.
3. 3-pin connectors have a keyway for proper orientation.

To help you at this stage, we need pics.
2. I'm sorry, there are only two and each cable has only two connectors. For a total of four maximum, but it's too short to reach the DVD/RW. I'm not sure where everyone is seeing 3, but the site and my box matches the cables I have.

3. Tried that, doesn't work.

What do you need pictures of?
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old October 20, 2013, 08:50 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,657

My System Specs

Default

I get it... your parts picker shows that you selected the CX430, while the actual PSU link shows the CX430M. Not the same PSU. So indeed you have 4 Sata power connectors. As I stated earlier, you'll have to find a way to set up your components so that the power connectors can reach all of them. You can also use a Molex-to-sata power converter if needed.

Pics? I need to see the fan connectors, board connectors and how you connect them. Because I simply don't follow what you explain.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old October 20, 2013, 09:01 AM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,538

My System Specs

Default

Do you need your DVD drive? I haven't used mine in about 3 years, they aren't needed anymore.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2013, 04:50 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
I get it... your parts picker shows that you selected the CX430, while the actual PSU link shows the CX430M. Not the same PSU. So indeed you have 4 Sata power connectors. As I stated earlier, you'll have to find a way to set up your components so that the power connectors can reach all of them. You can also use a Molex-to-sata power converter if needed.

Pics? I need to see the fan connectors, board connectors and how you connect them. Because I simply don't follow what you explain.
Well, it's fairly simple. The PSU came with a Molex cable, which is what I attached my front fan into.

The back fan, I plugged straight into SYS_FAN.

Front fan works, back fan doesn't. However, the back fan works when I plug it into the Molex cable, so it's not a fan issue, but something else.

Sidenote: I've fixed the other issues. Ordered a 4 connector SATA cable from Amazon, and a couple SATA data cables, which solves my issue with the connectors. Still need to check out what's happening with my RAM, as it still only shows 4GB when I've installed 8GB. Only other issue is the fan, but the computer runs perfectly.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2013, 04:59 AM
Skyllz's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 775

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by squadz View Post
Sidenote: I've fixed the other issues. Ordered a 4 connector SATA cable from Amazon, and a couple SATA data cables, which solves my issue with the connectors. Still need to check out what's happening with my RAM, as it still only shows 4GB when I've installed 8GB. Only other issue is the fan, but the computer runs perfectly.
I did not read the whole thread but...

Windows 32 or 64 bit?
__________________
Is smoke supposed to come out of there?
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2013, 07:05 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skyllz View Post
I did not read the whole thread but...

Windows 32 or 64 bit?
64-bit.
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2013, 04:04 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,657

My System Specs

Default

Unless there is a Disabled setting in the BIOS for the fan header, it should work.

You may want to manually set the Vram, speed and timings settings in order to have 8 Gb.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2013, 07:16 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Unless there is a Disabled setting in the BIOS for the fan header, it should work.

You may want to manually set the Vram, speed and timings settings in order to have 8 Gb.
RAM issue is fixed now.

Only issue left is the fan. It's currently plugged in the SYS_FAN spot, in the 3 pins (1,2,3), which matches the cable. Nothing happens.
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2013, 07:35 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by squadz View Post
RAM issue is fixed now.

Only issue left is the fan. It's currently plugged in the SYS_FAN spot, in the 3 pins (1,2,3), which matches the cable. Nothing happens.
Edit: Nevermind. Fixed the fans. Turns out one of the Molex to 3 pin adapters was slightly broken? No idea how, fixed it, all seems to work now. Weird how SYS_FAN didn't work for either fan though... slightly concerning, but all seems to work now.
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2013, 07:48 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,640

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by squadz View Post
Edit: Nevermind. Fixed the fans. Turns out one of the Molex to 3 pin adapters was slightly broken? No idea how, fixed it, all seems to work now. Weird how SYS_FAN didn't work for either fan though... slightly concerning, but all seems to work now.
Glad to hear you got it all worked out, and hopefully the sys fan is just finger problems or a setting in bios.

As far as the molex adapter goes... the most common failure is that one of the pins gets pushed back rather than seating into the socket. Sometimes you need to fiddle around with the wire on the back side to get it aligned so that it fits into the socket properly.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Head shots need to be taken more serious in the NHL Arinoth Hockey 1 March 27, 2011 10:23 PM
Patriot Box Office vs. Asus O!Play: Head 2 Head Cheator Member Reviews 43 August 30, 2010 07:43 AM
This is a head scratcher. Dr_BenD_over Troubleshooting 5 February 5, 2010 07:21 AM
*head/desk* KeepSix Off Topic 1 November 10, 2009 04:18 AM
Bang Your Head WolfBane Off Topic 28 June 16, 2009 02:18 PM