Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2013, 07:24 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,210

My System Specs

Default Intermittent CPU fan error

Hi Guys,

See specs under HTPC in my sig:

I replaced my Hyper212 fan with a Corsair SP120, and I used the included 3-pin resistor to cut down the fan's speed. I plugged the resistor into the CPU fan header on the motherboard, and the fan to the resistor. There are no other fans connected anywhere on the motherboard. (one fan to cool the APU is sufficient for this rig).


I'm getting intermittent CPU ERROR on startup. Also, HWmonitor does not accurately display the fan's RPM, with the RPM jumping all over the place (meanwhile I can hear the fan staying at a steady speed).

I'm wondering if the 3-pin resistor is somehow messing with the PWM function on the CPU fan header.

Is it possible to disable the CPU fan header and plug the CPU fan into another, non-PWM header?
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2013, 09:49 AM
odis172's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 683

My System Specs

Default

So the resistor is making the fan spin slower then the motherboard thinks is proper.
Thats why its throwing some cpu fan errors.

You have a couple options: There may be a setting in your bios to turn off the cpu fan error, or to lower the rpm that it throws an error at.
You may also just plug into a different header and turn off the cpu fan error.
You could also not use the included resistor, and set fan profiles so the motherboard can spin down the fan, and spin it up when temps rise.
Check for a motherboard bios update as well.

Just for kicks I would try plugging into a different header and see if hwmonitor still throws screwy readings - if no weird readings, might be a problem with the cpu header fan speed sensor. If you get weird readings still, that would point to the resistor or fan itself causing the weird readings, and creating the cpu fan speed error from the bios.
__________________
Laptop: Lenovo T420 - Core i5 2520 - 8GB DDR3
Server: 2 xeon E5530 - Asus Z8N-D6 - 12GB DDR3 - 8x 500GB raid 50 - Perc 6/i - Compucase RA448A00
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2013, 10:29 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,353

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by odis172 View Post
So the resistor is making the fan spin slower then the motherboard thinks is proper.
Thats why its throwing some cpu fan errors.

You have a couple options: There may be a setting in your bios to turn off the cpu fan error, or to lower the rpm that it throws an error at.
You may also just plug into a different header and turn off the cpu fan error.
You could also not use the included resistor, and set fan profiles so the motherboard can spin down the fan, and spin it up when temps rise.
Check for a motherboard bios update as well.

Just for kicks I would try plugging into a different header and see if hwmonitor still throws screwy readings - if no weird readings, might be a problem with the cpu header fan speed sensor. If you get weird readings still, that would point to the resistor or fan itself causing the weird readings, and creating the cpu fan speed error from the bios.
I think the same thing , I wonder if you were to plug it into say the case fan header if that would make any difference?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2013, 11:06 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,210

My System Specs

Default

It would work plugged into a different header, but then how do I disable the CPU fan header? I can't find anywhere in the bios to do so. I don't have any other fans to plug into the CPU header (I mean, I do, but I don't want to put them into that rig as I'm trying to minimise sound output).
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2013, 11:11 AM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,728

My System Specs

Default

Can't you just change the fan speed / profile in the bios? Or use an app in the OS?

You should be able to turn off the alerts / automated shutdown etc from the BIOS in the case of fan failure.
__________________
Random quotes:

AKG: "So please don't piss on people and claim its raining. "
Soullessone21: "Their the only fat bitches I ever want in my wife :)"
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2013, 11:14 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,353

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by great_big_abyss View Post
It would work plugged into a different header, but then how do I disable the CPU fan header? I can't find anywhere in the bios to do so. I don't have any other fans to plug into the CPU header (I mean, I do, but I don't want to put them into that rig as I'm trying to minimise sound output).
why do you you need to plug anything into the cpu fan header ?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2013, 03:18 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,937
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowmeph View Post
why do you you need to plug anything into the cpu fan header ?
FOR FAIL SAFE NOT TO KICK IN
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2013, 05:23 PM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,210

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaptCrunch View Post
FOR FAIL SAFE NOT TO KICK IN
That. Motherboard prevents boot unless CPU fan is plugged in.

EDIT:

Okay, I found the place in the motherboard that allows me to ignore the CPU fan speed, so I think we'll be all good now.
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;

Last edited by great_big_abyss; October 16, 2013 at 05:29 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
7870 intermittent no signal venm1 Troubleshooting 0 April 22, 2013 08:02 AM
P9X79 Deluxe intermittent No video on post issue dandelioneater Troubleshooting 5 January 26, 2013 09:19 AM
Intermittent stress test program? frontier204 Troubleshooting 1 October 26, 2012 08:33 PM
Update error code 8000ffff - unknown error hedgehog88 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 2 August 22, 2010 08:23 PM
Intermittent Video Distortion 3 of 7 Troubleshooting 5 January 15, 2009 08:10 AM