Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2013, 07:18 AM
HiTi's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 237
Default motherboard raid questions/ stutter questions

This is a weird one that I would like to get figured out before I build my next pc
Here is some back story so to speak
As far back as bf1942 and Desert Combat to present BF titles, I have always experienced a weird lag, or hesitation in all my systems during game play.Its hard to explain, but its similar to internet lag,or possible hard drive based.It is very noticeable. I have always blamed it on graphics or internet. I have been constantly been upgrading all this time both complete systems and even internet providers as I can't handle something not working properly.
Ever since way back when the 36 gb raptors have been out I have been running raid 0 with all my systems.
Now there has been various versions of raptors and ssd's in each system
All raid 0 systems have been run by on board motherboard solutions from various manufacturers. I know now this is not really a true hardware raid solution, but thought it was better then a single drive.
SO fast forward to today..
I was running two Crucial M4 128Gb drives in raid 0 off a gigabyte mini itx fm2 based system (which the problem was present with a gtx670) and switched to a single M4 drive to try windows 8.1 preview in uefi. I am not ready to go to windows 8 yet, so I reformatted the single drive and went back to windows 7 on the single m4. I installed bf3 and bf4 beta and played for a while and low and behold there was no hesitation or lag that was present before.
Is it possible that all this time that I was blaming other hardware and/or internet it was actually my onboard raid solution that was causing these annoying issues?
I have had Bell Fibre Op for the last three systems and still had the weird problems. I have always had ports forwarded for each game, so I would think its not internet based
I have had various gpus from both companies, so its not limited to nvidia or amd.
Video settings were never cranked even tho I could have on every system.
I know this is very hard to diagnose without seeing the systems or problem in action, but the raid setups are the only common thing I can think of.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2013, 07:33 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

Could be. I have ran raid 0 for at least 10 years with Zero issues. Currently have 3 Vertex's in raid 0.But I use intel Raid. I have heard the jMicron and other solutions are crap. What raid chip are you using?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2013, 07:38 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,477

My System Specs

Default

There was a time when I was obsessed with RAID0 setups and I can confirm from experience that onboard raid logic is not very shiny, not even the RAID controllers that are software based, like those little cards with 2 ports. The only RAID setup that unleashed the potential of my HDDs, doubling the top transfer speeds was based on a LSI SAS controller, the LSI SAS3041E that I got from ebay , at the time it was like 100$, so unless the raid card is not something dedicated you will not see the promised performance increase. Since then I moved to single SSD in AHCI mode and never looked back.

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2013, 08:43 AM
HiTi's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 237
Default

I was the same...figured I was kicking ass with the two drives and whooping everyone local here when we did have the rare lan party.
But yet whenever I built one of my friends systems with a single ssd drive, it always a"felt" better when I was testing games out on them.( Although I would never admit that to them haha )
As for raid chipsets..i had used intel for the most part, and tried to stay away from jmicron
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2013, 08:48 AM
HiTi's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 237
Default

I'm thinking I'm going to be in the market for a decent (240 and up gb ) sized ssd or go the extra mile and go with a hardware raid solution.
But for just gaming, the hardware card would probably be a complete waste of money.
And by the way...thanks for the responses. I have a hard time asking for advice or help most times, as I like to figure stuff out on my own for the most part.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2013, 07:40 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,364

My System Specs

Default

I had these issues too man and switched to a simple Adaptec card to run raid 0 paid about a 100 bux for it. I'm gonna assume you know to make sure the drives you are using are happy in a raid. Some drives aren't.
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RAID Questions Patlabor New Builds 5 January 15, 2010 11:14 AM
RAID 1 Questions Kilauea Storage 8 January 8, 2010 05:43 PM
Some questions about RAID bkh2 Storage 10 December 23, 2009 06:05 PM
Raid Questions slay3r Storage 34 December 3, 2009 08:50 AM
Raid 0 questions Canzara Storage 3 November 29, 2009 10:51 AM