Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 3, 2013, 03:13 AM
On2wheels's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: ontario
Posts: 959
Default Win7 "vdomemke.exe" error after virus cleanup

I used AVG rescue disk on a friend's PC, it found some spyware and a couple Trojans, now when it boots before the desktop should appear it hangs on a cmd prompt dos box saying it cant find this vdomemke.exe in some user folder.
I deleted that folder but it still hangs at bootup with the dos window (the exact message is something about cannot find specified path). I can start explorer by the Task Manager and it seems ok after that, but it's clearly not fixed.

Could a virus have planted a new path to look for and that is why I'm seeing this? Any ideas where to go from here?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 3, 2013, 06:12 AM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,714

My System Specs

Default

Could be something in startup trying to run a trojan / spyware... check msconfig startup tab for anything odd.
__________________
Random quotes:

AKG: "So please don't piss on people and claim its raining. "
Soullessone21: "Their the only fat bitches I ever want in my wife :)"
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 3, 2013, 07:07 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,592
Default

1) AVG = bad
2) Safe Mode and run ComboFix
3) Use MalwareBytes
4) Use HiJackThis (with extreme caution)

Something in the registry is trying to run something and it can't find it.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 3, 2013, 07:36 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,934
Default

sounds if looking for mac program Video Monkey
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 3, 2013, 08:35 AM
On2wheels's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: ontario
Posts: 959
Default

I think I did see Video Monkey on it. Thanks for the suggestions, I forgot about ComboFix, damn people, why do they click anything that says Free on the interweb.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 3, 2013, 08:43 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,468

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by On2wheels View Post
I think I did see Video Monkey on it. Thanks for the suggestions, I forgot about ComboFix, damn people, why do they click anything that says Free on the interweb.
Well.... because it's Free!!!!

How else are the entitled masses supposed to get their god given rights to everything in the world delivered to their doorstep???? ;)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 3, 2013, 08:48 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,592
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by On2wheels View Post
I think I did see Video Monkey on it. Thanks for the suggestions, I forgot about ComboFix, damn people, why do they click anything that says Free on the interweb.
Teach them to use Firefox + Ad Block and you'll find that 90% of those issues go away ;)

Be the teacher.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 3, 2013, 04:43 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,934
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Well.... because it's Free!!!!

How else are the entitled masses supposed to get their god given rights to everything in the world delivered to their doorstep???? ;)
yeah free portal to your desktop, with them share type programs
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 3, 2013, 06:21 PM
On2wheels's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: ontario
Posts: 959
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
1) AVG = bad
2) Safe Mode and run ComboFix
3) Use MalwareBytes
4) Use HiJackThis (with extreme caution)

Something in the registry is trying to run something and it can't find it.
Well I found out a few weeks ago the owner called some 800 number to fix a problem and they had him install McAffee on it, after they took remote control of the pc.

Combofix and malwarebytes found a few things, and now it boots up without the cmd window. Thanks alot for the suggestion! I have to admit when my own pc doesn't get infected I forget the steps to take.

Now to remove McAffee and get MSSE installed.
Would anyone like to see the Hijackthis log?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 3, 2013, 06:37 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,592
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by On2wheels View Post
Well I found out a few weeks ago the owner called some 800 number to fix a problem and they had him install McAffee on it, after they took remote control of the pc.

Combofix and malwarebytes found a few things, and now it boots up without the cmd window. Thanks alot for the suggestion! I have to admit when my own pc doesn't get infected I forget the steps to take.

Now to remove McAffee and get MSSE installed.
Would anyone like to see the Hijackthis log?
there is a website you can submit those logs too which does a decent job of analyzing them.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Margin of error" - why not just do a variance test? aristhrottle Suggestions & Feedback 7 May 11, 2012 08:54 AM
"No Signal" flashes before Win7 load screen BukitHedd Troubleshooting 2 February 18, 2012 10:23 AM
Make "All Programs" in start menu always open? (Win7) 300 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 3 November 7, 2009 09:41 AM
"Error: System fan has failed" phantom478 Air Cooling 16 September 29, 2009 05:02 AM
Continuous "Serious System ERror" BSOD, Reboots jazaddict Troubleshooting 20 December 31, 2008 08:26 AM