Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 27, 2013, 08:16 AM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default HDMI Sound Issue

This seems odd. For years now I've run my HTPC into my TV using a DVI-HDMI adapter and had the sound go in separately via minjack-dual RCA (either from onboard sound or a Audigy 2 NX). My TV had one HDMI port that accepted audio to be provided in this fashion. I recently did and upgrade to my HTPC and switched over to a 8500GT card which has HDMI out. If I plug in the HDMI cable to the DVI port the same was as I always used to, audio works. If I plug in the HDMI directly into the card, my on board audio is getting disabled. I've had issues in the past with ATI cards that had there own HD audio that would try and hijack things, but to my knowledge, this Nvidia card doesn't have any built in audio. I'm thinking this might be HDCP type dealie, but why would it work with the DVI-HDMI adapter and then not with a direct connection.
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 27, 2013, 08:48 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,658
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr_BenD_over View Post
This seems odd. For years now I've run my HTPC into my TV using a DVI-HDMI adapter and had the sound go in separately via minjack-dual RCA (either from onboard sound or a Audigy 2 NX). My TV had one HDMI port that accepted audio to be provided in this fashion. I recently did and upgrade to my HTPC and switched over to a 8500GT card which has HDMI out. If I plug in the HDMI cable to the DVI port the same was as I always used to, audio works. If I plug in the HDMI directly into the card, my on board audio is getting disabled. I've had issues in the past with ATI cards that had there own HD audio that would try and hijack things, but to my knowledge, this Nvidia card doesn't have any built in audio. I'm thinking this might be HDCP type dealie, but why would it work with the DVI-HDMI adapter and then not with a direct connection.
Yes the 8500GT does HDMI audio.. so let it use it :P
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 27, 2013, 09:09 AM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

Seems it has a SPDIF pass through like a 9800GT I used to have, but I didn't see a header on this particular card for it. I'll take a closer look at it this weekend, maybe it's there and I didn't see it, or it wasn't populated, in which case I may have some soldering to do. I should have a SPDIF cable kicking around.
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 27, 2013, 09:17 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,658
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr_BenD_over View Post
Seems it has a SPDIF pass through like a 9800GT I used to have, but I didn't see a header on this particular card for it. I'll take a closer look at it this weekend, maybe it's there and I didn't see it, or it wasn't populated, in which case I may have some soldering to do. I should have a SPDIF cable kicking around.
They don't have headers. Its built onto the card as are all newer cards. I have a GT 520 running HDMI audio out.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 27, 2013, 12:42 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,955
Default

Nvidia audio drivers are part of the graphics card driver package

install Nvidia HD Audio

may also be HDMI cable doesn't support audio
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 27, 2013, 03:05 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,451

My System Specs

Default

you may need to select the tv as the sound source too in your audio options or playback devices. I've noticed win7 tools around a little at 1st but once you've gotten it working it will always work. If you are using VLC to playback videos try right clicking on the video while the movie is on the TV screen and manually setting the audio to 5.1 from it's default of 2.1. I've had a weird glitch in the past with VLC and this solved it.
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2013, 12:04 PM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

Everything on the interweb seems to indicate that this card does not have it's own HD audio and uses a SPDIF pass through. There are also no unknown hardware devices in the device manager. I tracked down a a cable plugged it in, selected the SPDIF output in the audio options and still get no sound. I tried another HDMI port, nadda, checked the TV's audio settings and didn't see anything related to this issue. I guess I'll just keep using the DVI>HDMI adapter for now.
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2013, 12:40 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,658
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr_BenD_over View Post
Everything on the interweb seems to indicate that this card does not have it's own HD audio and uses a SPDIF pass through. There are also no unknown hardware devices in the device manager. I tracked down a a cable plugged it in, selected the SPDIF output in the audio options and still get no sound. I tried another HDMI port, nadda, checked the TV's audio settings and didn't see anything related to this issue. I guess I'll just keep using the DVI>HDMI adapter for now.
Make sure that when the nvidia drivers are installed it installs the HD Audio drivers.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LG LCD Display issue thru HDMI fr PC scott free Troubleshooting 2 May 9, 2012 04:11 PM
PC to LG tv through hdmi connection issue Please help rsw309 Troubleshooting 5 January 20, 2012 03:56 PM
Quality issue using dvi to hdmi? odis172 HTPC Systems & Software 4 August 5, 2009 05:48 PM
HDMI sound issue on Mint 7 64bit (ubuntu) yamawho O/S's, Drivers & General Software 3 July 3, 2009 04:57 AM
HDMI Audio Issue lcdguy HTPC Systems & Software 15 November 12, 2008 10:52 PM