Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 18, 2007, 11:35 PM
r0k0's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gatineau, Quebec
Posts: 707

My System Specs

Default Another problem with my crap pc..!!!



i put one card in pc start till windows loads then restarts, put 2 in boots in windows but screen stays black... all of this started when i tried to install the NGO nVidia modified drivers.... i tried it at 1pm this afternoon and its 1h30 am and my damn pc wont boots and i have not god damn clue whats wrong with it..... i should sell all my pc's and buy a freaking laptop.... have no more problem...

any can help me..?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 18, 2007, 11:45 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,417

My System Specs

Default

Are you still OC'd?

It sounds like either your mem OC or the mem settings might be too much for the higher mem requirements of XP.

If you are OC'd, try dropping your OC through bios, or if you can't get into that, try a Cmos reset.

(This would be a lot easier if you'd put up a sig of your system so that we don't have to ask every time.... :) ).
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 18, 2007, 11:47 PM
r0k0's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gatineau, Quebec
Posts: 707

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Are you still OC'd?

It sounds like either your mem OC or the mem settings might be too much for the higher mem requirements of XP.

If you are OC'd, try dropping your OC through bios, or if you can't get into that, try a Cmos reset.

(This would be a lot easier if you'd put up a sig of your system so that we don't have to ask every time.... :) ).
i've reseted all back to stock and doing the same thing
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 18, 2007, 11:52 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,417

My System Specs

Default

Probably time for a cmos reset then. It could be that one of your mem settings is out of whack.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 18, 2007, 11:53 PM
r0k0's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gatineau, Quebec
Posts: 707

My System Specs

Default

what do you mean out of whack..?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 18, 2007, 11:55 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,417

My System Specs

Default

Can you get your hands on a PCI vid card?

I keep one around for cases like this when I suspect problems with vid cards.

One other question.... when it goes black screen, does it look like the system is still booting into windows, but can't display?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 18, 2007, 11:56 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,417

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by r0k0 View Post
what do you mean out of whack..?
Could be that one of the advanced settings is too high/low. Hopefully a cmos reset would return it to a safe setting.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 18, 2007, 11:57 PM
r0k0's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gatineau, Quebec
Posts: 707

My System Specs

Default

hope so or the pc is gonna fly out the damn windows...!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2007, 12:01 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,417

My System Specs

Default

Heh......

Don't forget to glue the power line to the back of the case or you won't get any distance...... :)

It can be frustrating sometimes, but very few of these non-boot problems are fatal.

Usually if you can get into bios, there's still life in the computer.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2007, 12:04 AM
r0k0's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gatineau, Quebec
Posts: 707

My System Specs

Default

yeah she boots to windows with boots cards in but screen stay black... if i remove one... shell show windows loading and then restart... i can get in the bios when i want
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Little problem. belgolas HardwareCanucks F@H Team 9 February 9, 2008 09:05 PM
360 with VGA adapter on 22" lcd looks like crap! Mibs Gaming 2 September 27, 2007 07:41 PM
For crap sake Scratch O/S's, Drivers & General Software 3 August 4, 2007 09:55 AM
Real tired of this crap..! Patriote Off Topic 10 May 10, 2007 01:31 PM
Just chucked a Pentium D 805 in my rig and holy crap does this thing suck Misoprostol CPU's and Motherboards 12 May 8, 2007 03:06 PM