Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old August 13, 2013, 04:06 PM
Rookie

Unhappy USB malfunction?

Alright well i had a custom PC built from NCIX about a year and a bit ago, and recently something's been wrong with the usbs in the back. Basically, if i plug in one item or two, its fine, if i move the usb plugs a little bit they start turning off and on the devices plugged in. if i plug more than 3 in a lot of times they just stop working at all, and or only some of them randomly work. other times lets say i have my Blackwidow and my Mamba plugged into the back, and i plug my g13 gamepad in as well. Everything works as normal untill i run my g13 driver software that allows me to edit my macros and whatnot. When i do that every device that is plugged into the back (usb wise) flickers off and on and is render unusable untill a system restart. Note tht i also have 2 USB 3.0 ports in the back which don't work what so ever. The 2 usbs i have in the front work fine at all times, however.

so some specs. I have the Asus P8Z 68-V LX motherboard
8 GB kingston RAM
2 HDDs (could maybe somehow contribute considering the SATA plugs are right next to where the usb connecters are)
An AMD Radeon 6870 1GB
I have two displays connected to said graphics card (So there are many inputs/outputs to my computer)
Also, i have a Coolermaster Half 912 case (incase it might be my I/O shield)

Oh and i have tried plugging the usb connectors to another slot in my motherboard, it fixed the problem for a full day and it simply started doing the same thing the next day.