Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old August 13, 2013, 06:28 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,577
Default

the PSU you have should have enough amperage to satisfy that video card, But I would imagine with OCZs issues that it could very well be a problem with power or power delivery. It would be something to test out with another capable PSU. I don't know what KaptKrunch is smoking when he says you need 58 amps for the video card, but Bond007 is right, a good quality unit in the 750w range with a nice single 12v rail would satisfy your needs with ample room to spare.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old August 13, 2013, 11:51 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 56

My System Specs

Default

Looking online I need about 20-25 amps on the 12v that feeds my vid.......and currently max ratings on my current Psu is 25 XD. Sad thing is my old PSU FSP 600 watt had 38 amps on the 12v2 and that was made in 2004 LOL. Too bad it died but to its credit only the PSU died nothing else.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2013, 01:39 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,923
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LarkStarr View Post
the PSU you have should have enough amperage to satisfy that video card, But I would imagine with OCZs issues that it could very well be a problem with power or power delivery. It would be something to test out with another capable PSU. I don't know what KaptKrunch is smoking when he says you need 58 amps for the video card, but Bond007 is right, a good quality unit in the 750w range with a nice single 12v rail would satisfy your needs with ample room to spare.
yes can be delivery not enough juice available to feed system

HoserEh: any friends with UPS that does AVR and filtering to rule out wallplug issues

got a match so i can light that blub above your melon

power consumption was 562 Watts in Battlefield 3 0n 7970

12v and 562 watts = 46a 0n a single now if CF would be my bark


go big or stay home on PSU amps on 12v rail specially SLi or CF systems

Last edited by KaptCrunch; August 14, 2013 at 01:51 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2013, 09:04 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,577
Default

close to 600 watts for the entire system is more reasonable then 700 (58*12) watts for the video card alone, buddyguy. 562 watts fits will within the 750 watt PSU range. There's no need to go 'bigger or stay home' - there's no mention of SLI/CF here, and not everyone is made of money.

That would of course depends on the specification on the rest of the system though, but I don't imagine the video card alone taking much more then 350 watts tops. It's not -that- power hungry of a card.

You can use that match to light up your joint, brah. you high!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2013, 01:16 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 56

My System Specs

Default

Actually Kapt I got a 350watt APC UPS set it up to sensitive so if the wife turns on the microwave while vaccuming I can stop cringing Lol. There is about a 30 dollar spread betwen the 750 and 850 corsair, and in my case I do plan to snag another 7970 ( a differant maker, probably MSI ) So a 850 is my prefered choice. On one review I saw a GHZ edition OC'd pull 360 watts.....how are you pulling that much unless thats full system draw. I am guessing at my current build i pull 450 watts full load, so 700 was ideal when i origonally bought the OCZ. I bought the OCZ knowing that they had spotty filtering but at 60 bucks and my trusty old PSU went *pop* I was willing to give it a go, now though...... Still confuses the bejezus out of me that i can run furmark for 4 hours no driver crash, load a game like D3, Far Cry 3 or Civ 5 i get black screen and driver crashes. Is it because only the GPU is being taxed so the system draw is lower then a game? If so those games only wind up my CPU to 50% usage sometimes less.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old August 15, 2013, 10:01 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,577
Default

If you're going to go for two cards eventually, then I would possibly indeed suggest bumping up to a 1000W PSU. using two 7970s on an 850W is brushing it real close to it's capacity, and it's best to leave some headroom on your power design.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old August 15, 2013, 02:28 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,923
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LarkStarr View Post
If you're going to go for two cards eventually, then I would possibly indeed suggest bumping up to a 1000W PSU. using two 7970s on an 850W is brushing it real close to it's capacity, and it's best to leave some headroom on your power design.
+2
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old August 15, 2013, 04:09 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 56

My System Specs

Default

Ok noted, 1000 watt it is.......now convincing the wife lol.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DVR's whats to know? OpenFriday Off Topic 4 November 22, 2011 10:17 PM
Whats better oOoSMOKEoOo Power Supplies 2 October 29, 2011 10:31 AM
whats this kendallcschm CPU's and Motherboards 6 December 22, 2009 10:53 AM
Whats Better trayton CPU's and Motherboards 4 May 1, 2009 08:16 PM
whats this mean ? Jim CPU's and Motherboards 8 July 25, 2007 05:39 AM