Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2013, 04:31 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2

My System Specs

Default No POST after reboot

Hey HC crew,

A week ago I rebooted my 6 year old computer after installing some Windows updates. After reboot, the system failed to POST. More accurately, the system turns on, sounds like the spinning disks initialize, and it stays on; all without any signal to the monitor.

I had time to work on troubleshooting today and have done the following:
  1. Swapped out the video card with the known good one from my family PC.
  2. Moved the video card to a different PCI-E slot.
  3. Pulled all the RAM and tested each stick one-at-a-time in each of the 4 RAM slots
  4. Unplugged all but the System SSD drive
  5. Pulled the CPU cooler, cleaned, reseated, and applied fresh MX-2 before reattaching the CPU cooler.

While writing this I've come up with the idea to see if it registers on the network; ping it from my other PC. Any other suggestions of what I could test? BTW: no system speaker, so no beeps possible.

Barring a positive outcome from the next test or suggestions, my best guess is that my CPU or some critical aspect of my Mobo is pooched.

I'm not going to replace it, so if I can't get it started, I'll be doing some data recovery using my other PC and a HDD case.

Thanks,
Nusheen
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2013, 04:48 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,092

My System Specs

Default

Try replacing Motherboard Battery . ??
5-10 bucks worth a shot.
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2013, 05:34 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 7
Default

I have never seen a dead battery cause a board not to POST...
It sounds like you have done most of the things I would do in your situation.
Do you have some little crappy speaker from some other case or system you could attach to the board (if it has speaker out) those beep codes if any would be invaluable
I have noticed that most boards will cause the keybaord num lock/caps lock/ scroll lock lights to flash during post. Do you remember this happening before and if so does it happen now. If it does it is getting pretty far along, if not not so good.
Some boards have a way to clear the bios settings and/or recover the bios from a backup bios, check options for your board (pulling your battery overnight should be good enough to clear bios settings if you can't find any other info)
Check the board for any bad caps ( capacitors which are bulging are either failing or have failed)
If it really is failing to post I would bet it is the board (as cpu's rarely fail on startup in my experience but usually when doing burn ins or when over volted and/or overclocked and/or over heated which are not happening during post)
Good luck
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2013, 05:44 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,367

My System Specs

Default

any beep codes? you meed a speaker to hook up so that you can get your beep codes. another thing is pull everything off of the Motherboard ram everything then stick one ram stick in a hard drive or even a cd drive to boot into a live linux or other OS . but to me sounds motherboard or cpu problem
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2013, 06:28 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,946
Default

try the moniter on a good system ? Asus P5Q-E known for leaky caps
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2013, 06:38 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,367

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaptCrunch View Post
try the moniter on a good system ? Asus P5Q-E known for leaky caps
ooops forgot to mention that also
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 29, 2013, 12:25 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2

My System Specs

Default Thanks

Thanks everyone for your suggestions.

The monitor is good, I've got a laptop going to it using VGA, and am doing my troubleshooting using the VGA port on another monitor that the laptop is usually plugged into. Sorry for failing to mention this earlier.

I got pulled away and haven't yet tried checking whether the system is registering on the network.
Will do that first.
Next I'll line up NorthernPal's suggestion of checking for lights on the keyboard using my non-wireless spare.
Failing that, I'll nab the speaker from the family PC to check for any error indicators, checking the Caps in the process. I recall an old Umax laptop with the same problem (am I aging myself here?).

I don't think I'll sink bucks into the battery, though I recall the days when a dead battery would cause me all kinds of grief.

Thanks again each of you. I'll update the thread with my progress over the next couple of days.

Cheers,
Nusheen
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 23, 2013, 11:18 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 4
Default

try to boot only motherboard and powersupply .no harddisk , ram, and memory. see it will display post if not your motherboard is dead.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2013, 12:28 AM
trodas's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Czech republic
Posts: 352

My System Specs

Red face

I would back the clear CMOS suggestion from northernpal :)
As about Asus P5Q line and caps, IIRC they used some unknown China or Taiwan brand polymer caps like "Elite", witch would bear no sign that they are failed - unless they go explode like this: http://img126.imageshack.us/img126/7...mer270uvi0.jpg
http://s13.postimage.org/4epwb08lz/A...e_polymers.jpg
http://s8.postimage.org/3mlhgy2md/As...polymers_2.jpg
http://s9.postimage.org/4hy9f1yin/As...su_polymer.jpg
http://s12.postimage.org/6perhnkt9/A..._polymer_2.jpg
...or take Eldonko experience with it:http://img107.imageshack.us/img107/3859/img5637tg7.jpg

So all in all, if the mobo does not post after bios clearing and new (or borrowed from another PC) battery, then it is probably dead and you can donate it to the Soulessone21 project there: The MOBO Art Project

I did not write this to stress you out, but I trying to be as honest, as I can when comes to what informations I gather about those mainboards. Good luck with yours and I wish I was wrong and the mobo will start again and act like this was some sort of fluke
__________________
"It is dangerous to be right in matters on which the established authorities are wrong." - Voltaire
...just keep folding, just keep folding... :) my config
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
boot , fail , post

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reboot while gaming/video, can trigger reboot by shaking case. consid3r Troubleshooting 7 August 5, 2012 01:24 PM
Random Reboot's mootehcow Troubleshooting 15 September 3, 2010 05:14 PM
Need help: Reboot problem ModdKid Troubleshooting 13 August 17, 2009 06:50 PM
Reboot = Fried Ram Evilyeti RAM 2 November 17, 2008 05:58 AM
reboot issues Jhayman Troubleshooting 7 January 23, 2008 05:00 AM