Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old July 14, 2013, 08:41 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 36
Default

i have a coolermaster extreme 2 why is it bad? i just got an air conditioner that makes the lights sometimes flicker, could it be related?
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old July 14, 2013, 08:58 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 36
Default

I also have another computer that i use for games and it appears to be fine, granted it has different parts and a different psu
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old July 14, 2013, 09:18 AM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,856

My System Specs

Default

yea... try running without the air-con.. It may be sucking too much juice for the circut which means your computer may be recieving too little power thout it would usually throw a trip rather than this.

That PSU is not the worst but there are definately better ones for the same price... reviews of the 450 unit showed it was firstly a 430W unit. It MIGHT be a source / contributor to your problems.
__________________
Random quotes:

AKG: "So please don't piss on people and claim its raining. "
Soullessone21: "Their the only fat bitches I ever want in my wife :)"
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old July 14, 2013, 11:27 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 36
Default

hmm because thats interesting the problems also arose as i installed another fan but I doubt that would use a lot of power. Also If I remember this problem also happened during the day, when I did not have the air conditioner on unless it draws power just being plugged in but not on. Could a bad power supply shut certain components of like for example when a game requires alot of power? I stress tested the gpu and the cpu and both complete it without problems.

I will try my other pc it has a gtx 670 with a 500w psu on with the air conditioner on if that works fine can we assume its the psu of the other computer?

Last edited by ChacePoint; July 14, 2013 at 11:38 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old July 14, 2013, 11:45 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,728

My System Specs

Default

One of the critical things that a quality PSU does well is to manage poor quality input source.... if these issues started shortly after you installed the AC it's possible that your home line current is being affected and that the cheap PSU isn't able to condition the dirty power it's now getting from the socket.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old July 14, 2013, 12:01 PM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,856

My System Specs

Default

Remember that this only a possibility. Your going to have to test it and see.
__________________
Random quotes:

AKG: "So please don't piss on people and claim its raining. "
Soullessone21: "Their the only fat bitches I ever want in my wife :)"
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old July 14, 2013, 12:31 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,954
Default

where are you located ChacePoint

any friends with UPS unit with AVR to verify if this is the issue
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old July 14, 2013, 12:37 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 36
Default

i live in halifax ns and how do i test a psu. if my other computer works fine in games and have the air conditioner on does that mean a bad psu in the other computer?
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old July 14, 2013, 01:19 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,728

My System Specs

Default

The trick would be to transfer the PSU from the working PC into the problem child and see if your issues go away. Easiest troubleshooting methods are to test known good components in place of questionable ones one at a time so that you know which swap actually resolved the issue.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old July 14, 2013, 01:51 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,954
Default

SS_w same if takes problem sys to other side of home an see it game plays ok.....then the wall power on other side is the issue , no need to open case an fiddle with wires
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with Computer mailaw Troubleshooting 5 March 8, 2009 01:22 PM
Computer problem Kyure Troubleshooting 4 December 24, 2008 04:34 PM
Pinkfriday Sale on Major computer part sellers! 50% donated to Cancer research ziikutv Press Releases & Tech News 11 November 17, 2008 05:17 AM
Computer booting problem Hillsdale Storage 8 June 5, 2008 01:53 PM
Odd Problem with new computer SKYMTL Troubleshooting 10 October 13, 2007 08:03 PM