Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old July 12, 2013, 08:43 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 36
Default

Yeah won't even boot now just says disk read error has occurred hit ctrl alt delete. I do that windows restarts and same msg :(
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old July 12, 2013, 08:46 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,934
Default

check drive cables or boot order
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old July 12, 2013, 09:14 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 36
Default

I replaced drive cables and windows loaded it ran a diskchk and many files were replaced said something about they were orphaned?

Last edited by ChacePoint; July 12, 2013 at 09:27 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old July 13, 2013, 06:23 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,934
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by orphan file
A file that no longer has a purpose. For example, when you uninstall an application, a few files that make up the application, or were generated by the application, may remain on your hard disk. These are orphan files since they serve no purpose without the application. In general, you can delete orphan files, but you should make sure that they truly are orphans because some files, especially DLLs, may be used by more than one application.
#1 back up all wanted data, game saves/profiles. pic's etc place 0n usb stik

sounds if software (registry) is corrupt. best get all current drivers for your hardware (F6 install for chipset) sound, video and extract them 0n usb stik or if OEM system just restore factory settings

format drive, boot from optical with windows disk

when ask F6 then direct to usb let it load and finish

then get all win updates

install your AV or Microsoft Security Essentials

load your apps, games using UAC RUN as ADMIN when exe them

Last edited by KaptCrunch; July 13, 2013 at 06:41 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old July 13, 2013, 06:47 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 36
Default

I will try but does it mean anything to you that I have also had to reformat before 2 times one because my computer would be on but my monitor would turn off and not turn on. I think it may have been a power saving feature. And the second time was because my i would run a program that requires elevated permissions the mouse would freeze up for like 15 seconds before I could select yes button.

Is it possible a defective harddrive could cause these issues were the game for example would freeze and then I would get a garbled image? The funny thing is i know when it is going to happen the sound in a game will loop over and over and like 5 seconds later the game freezes and the screen gets messed up.

The other thing I can add is i have had this computer for 2 months and I have played many games without problem but recently I install many more games and this started happening. I hope that helps to discover a possible solution. I will try what you suggested but like before I have a feeling it may be a temporary fix.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old July 13, 2013, 07:29 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,934
Default

this a tower or laptop

if laptop i agree if HDD or SSD not current firmware
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old July 13, 2013, 07:39 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 36
Default

i have a desktop non ssd. I just called western digital support and they told me that if it was the harddrive after the computer freezes the computer would not be running and shutdown whereas in my problem it does still run I just cant do anything. Is what they say true? I have updated my firmware.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old July 13, 2013, 02:39 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,934
Default

are you using optiacal drive to play game or HDD
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old July 13, 2013, 05:54 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 36
Default

its an hdd i use to play games
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old July 14, 2013, 04:53 AM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,720

My System Specs

Default

Sounds like you possibly have a dodgy disk or maybe a dodgy connection / controller.

Try swap the disk from the SataII port to a SATAII port.

If this helps great.. if not you need to run a diagnostic against your disk. You should find something on the manufacturers website.

By anychanges do you have many brown-outs / power cuts in your area? Do you see lights get brighter and dimmer regularly?
This could all be power issues with either the power into your home or even the PSU..

Is your PSU the Coolermaster Extreme 2 by any chance?
If yes I would look there first.. Not a good PSU.
__________________
Random quotes:

AKG: "So please don't piss on people and claim its raining. "
Soullessone21: "Their the only fat bitches I ever want in my wife :)"

Last edited by Dzzope; July 14, 2013 at 05:00 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with Computer mailaw Troubleshooting 5 March 8, 2009 12:22 PM
Computer problem Kyure Troubleshooting 4 December 24, 2008 03:34 PM
Pinkfriday Sale on Major computer part sellers! 50% donated to Cancer research ziikutv Press Releases & Tech News 11 November 17, 2008 04:17 AM
Computer booting problem Hillsdale Storage 8 June 5, 2008 12:53 PM
Odd Problem with new computer SKYMTL Troubleshooting 10 October 13, 2007 07:03 PM