Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 9, 2013, 08:37 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: MTL
Posts: 91

My System Specs

Default PC Freezes as if paused with loud distortion noise

As the title states my has been freezing on me intermittently in the last 2 months.

I usually play SC2 when this happens, but it doesn't seem to be limited to videogame play. Also happens while just browsing the net/other tasks.

The weird part is the screen freezes sound is replaced with a loud sort of electronic distortion.
When this occurs I cannot access TASK Manager, the mouse and the keyboard still have lights on them.

The screen is still on with the same image on which it froze... as if I paused a DVD O was watching + the annoying noise.


This has been happening sporadically in the last 1-2 months.

I reboot the PC and everything is back to normal. Games work right away with no issues and no freezing.

System Specs
Motherboard: Asus p8z68-v PRO
Processor: 2500k OCed to 4.5ghz on AIR since first week.
Memory: 16gb (4x4) G.SkillRipjaws X
Video Card(s): Asus Reference 6950 2gb
Hard Drive(s): Patriot Pyro 60gb SSD / Hitachi deskstar 7300k 2tb
Optical Drive(s): Sony DVD
Case: CM 690 Advanced II
Power Supply: corsair tx750m
Sound Card: N/A
Monitor: u2311
Operating System: Win 7 Ultimate

Thanks for your help Guys! :D
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 9, 2013, 08:41 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,797

My System Specs

Default

Did you try reseating your cards / mem sticks? Sometimes they'll work themselves loose to the point where they're not making proper contact and then heat can cause them to momentarily disconnect from the slot.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 9, 2013, 08:46 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Brampton, Ontario
Posts: 82

My System Specs

Default

Was thinking the same thing. Now, you don't have a separate sound card, but definitely check your memory sticks, pull, clean, and reseat. May also not hurt to redo your sound and video drivers.
__________________
Personal Rig: See System Specs
HTPC: Pentium G3420, MSI H81i, 4GB G-Skill DDR3 1333, GeForce 650, 400GB Recertified Seagate, 1TB WD Caviar Green, 750GB WD Caviar Blue 2.5", Cooler Master Elite 120 Advanced, Windows 7 x64, 32" Seiki LCD TV, Panasonic SA-HE75 5.1 Reciever
9x Gamer: eMachines eOne - 433 Mhz Celeron, 64 MB RAM, 8MB ATI Rage XL, 6GB HDD, Windows 98se
9x Gamer #2: 500 Mhz Pentium III, 512MB Ram, nVidia Geforce 5600, 20GB HDD, Windows ME
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 10, 2013, 01:33 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: MTL
Posts: 91

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Did you try reseating your cards / mem sticks? Sometimes they'll work themselves loose to the point where they're not making proper contact and then heat can cause them to momentarily disconnect from the slot.

OK i'll check the 4 memory sticks and the videocard connections. I will remove and reseat them, when you guys say wipe them. What should be used? paper towel?

as for the drivers updated video drivers like 2 weeks ago. so Should be good.

My GPU is the reference version which is unlocked to 6970 from day 1. Im wondering if I should flip the bios switch and run it on the stock 6950 setup.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 10, 2013, 01:53 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,495

My System Specs

Default

if you are running more than one hard drive in your system try unplugging all of them except your main drive. I've experienced this issue with the same symptoms in the past due to a failing storage drive.

open and close my computer a few times... if it shows the drives extremely slow you've found your problem.
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 10, 2013, 01:59 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,970
Default

back down your overclock for cpu is stressed out or cpu fan cooling issues , clogged fins
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 10, 2013, 02:01 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,970
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by simsin View Post
OK i'll check the 4 memory sticks and the videocard connections. I will remove and reseat them, when you guys say wipe them. What should be used? paper towel?

as for the drivers updated video drivers like 2 weeks ago. so Should be good.

My GPU is the reference version which is unlocked to 6970 from day 1. Im wondering if I should flip the bios switch and run it on the stock 6950 setup.

use a clean pencil eraser to clean ram
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 10, 2013, 07:25 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: MTL
Posts: 91

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaptCrunch View Post
use a clean pencil eraser to clean ram
hehe, not sure if serious? (insert meme)

:D
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 10, 2013, 07:54 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,797

My System Specs

Default

Nope... he's serious. It was actually the preferred cleaning method in a torpedo maintenance tech order to clean the contacts on the pull-away connector between the AC and Torp. :)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 11, 2013, 09:16 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,833
Default

Don't use paper towel, the lint will make it worse.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NEED HELP URGENTLY (LOUD GRINDING NOISE) Blu Troubleshooting 5 October 25, 2011 11:54 AM
Computer fan makes a loud whirring noise on startup beginnerbuild Troubleshooting 6 April 2, 2011 11:14 AM
PSU making loud buzzing noise? cruisx Troubleshooting 2 October 18, 2010 01:24 PM
CPU usage with GPU client paused... somecanadianguy HardwareCanucks F@H Team 0 July 22, 2009 03:24 PM
Low (as in not loud) hi pitch noise from SyncMaster™ 2693HM Gameplaywarrior Display Units 6 November 23, 2008 08:23 PM