Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 27, 2013, 08:36 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Rjukan, Norway
Posts: 59

My System Specs

Default No boot whatsoever

It started some time ago when my Sabertooth P67 seemingly died on me. I simply shut down my computer, and when i tried to start it the day after, nothing happened. All i got was my fans spinning for half a second, then nothing. No beep code, no red LED's, no nothing.

I tried troubleshooting in many many ways and asking around on forums, and eventually figured it had to be my motherboard that had failed.

I sent it back to my retailer who declined return because the board was "Physically damaged".



I though screw them then, and ordered a z77 sabertooth from another retailer and hoped this would be the solution. I just received it, placed it on a cardboard box, hooked everything up; 8 pin, 24pin, single RAM dimm, CPU and cooler, and when i went to short the power switch pins, guess what?

The fans spun for half a second then nothing. Only a single green LED at the bottom. Not even a beep code. I have also tried to reset the CMOS.



Anyone had similar experiences? It's frustrating the hell outta me...

Shouldn't be a PSU issue. Have tried both the XFX and my old Chieftec.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 27, 2013, 08:46 AM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

Maybe a dead cpu or a cpu that is not seated properly? take it out and also inspect the pins in the socket carefully. they should all line up and be straight. What ram are you using? New board might not like it. The PSU is suspect. The XFX could be dead and the chieftec might not be working to well. Is it an older psu? maybe the board doesn't like it?

edit: what about the cooler? is the backplate shorting something on the board
__________________

Last edited by dandelioneater; June 27, 2013 at 08:49 AM. Reason: addition
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 27, 2013, 09:14 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Rjukan, Norway
Posts: 59

My System Specs

Default

The CPU is seated properly, there is only one way it fits.
The mobo is brand new and has no bent pins.
The Chieftek is about 2 years old and was retired fully functioning, and the XFX replaced it and worked well
for half a year. I have also been troubleshooting using both with the excact same result.
The RAM is listed under my system specs and ought to be fine.
And the backplate is plastic, so it shouldn't really be able to short anything.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 27, 2013, 10:44 AM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Did you check your RAM sticks? as in 1 stick in one slot etc...

Also, I would definitely try a different PSU.
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 27, 2013, 10:47 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,306

My System Specs

Default

if you do have a different PSU you could try it but sounds like CPU to me also but.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 27, 2013, 10:54 AM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

Are there any pc shops up there that could test the board for you with their hardware?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 27, 2013, 10:57 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Rjukan, Norway
Posts: 59

My System Specs

Default

Sadly there isn't. It's a very small town, and there's virtually no way for me to get a hold of hardware without bying it :/
But i'll get around to testing another PSU this evening or tomorrow.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 27, 2013, 10:59 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,416

My System Specs

Default

Did you leave absolutely everything off of the initial boot other than cpu / vid / 1 stick of mem? I'd also suggest using a known good keyboard + mouse for the boot on the off chance that there's a short in one of them causing the problem.

If it's not USB and you've tried two different motherboards, PSUs, and different single memory sticks then it more than likely is your CPU.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 27, 2013, 11:59 AM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

^^^ Yeah there is a wide variety of things to try prior to determining its the CPU.
I had the exact same symptoms in a build a few yrs ago....fans n lights spin up for a split second then everything shuts down......was a faulty PSU.
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 27, 2013, 12:32 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,923
Default

Rjukan, Norway what voltage is the wall plugs 120 or 240vac check PSU is to your voltage

as for first not booting up may be a loose cmos chip or a short by what your explaining
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
asus , boot , motherboars , sabertooth

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't boot up! Scripter Troubleshooting 22 May 18, 2010 08:12 AM
Reboot and select proper boot device or insert boot media in selected boot device BrianHanna Troubleshooting 44 February 11, 2010 01:13 PM
My Boot settings (Bootsect.bak/Boot directory) installed to another HDD? chouchou Troubleshooting 7 December 21, 2008 07:46 PM
cant boot into XP magictorch Troubleshooting 2 November 17, 2007 02:42 PM