Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old June 27, 2013, 02:16 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

^^^^ Read carefully his first post, this is his 2nd Mobo with same issue, highly doubt he has either a short or poor CMOS chip in 2 install/ boards. Mobo can safely be ruled out.
As said I'm banking on faulty PSU as everything spins up briefly (no post though) then powers down.
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old June 27, 2013, 03:45 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,535

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjbarker View Post
^^^^ Read carefully his first post, this is his 2nd Mobo with same issue, highly doubt he has either a short or poor CMOS chip in 2 install/ boards. Mobo can safely be ruled out.
As said I'm banking on faulty PSU as everything spins up briefly (no post though) then powers down.
It's his second PSU as well.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old June 27, 2013, 07:16 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,949
Default

then CPU/GPU next inline
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2013, 03:48 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Rjukan, Norway
Posts: 59

My System Specs

Default

We have proper 240 volt
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2013, 09:52 PM
howpet's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Peterborough On
Posts: 255

My System Specs

Default

Boy, what a kunondrom!!
My first maximus formula11 didn't boot. Found some damaged traces on the back side of the mobo, not anywhere near standoff mounts. My first thought well maybe I messed up somewhere on the install. Bought another 1, it worked then I read somewhere about other people having similar problems. But for you to have this happen on 2 different series boards is beyond coincidence.
Can the retailer tell you what the actual damage is to first board you bought?? And why it wasn"t returned??
As far as the 2nd board goes you gotta have a black cloud over your head. Processors are pretty much the most stable component in a system barring extreme voltage or heat.
1155 cpu"s are pretty common at any local computer shop. I'm suggesting going to 1 with all your hardware and booting with 1 of their Celeron or Pentium processors and see what happens. If everything goes good then you know your cpu is bad. You can go after Intel for some compensation. If the mobo is faulty again and it does bork the cpu then your out the price of a cheaper processor but you have documentation to go after Asus.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2013, 03:12 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Rjukan, Norway
Posts: 59

My System Specs

Default

Thw retailer said the p67 had damaged traces on the back, but that sounds so strange as i hadn't touched the internals for quite some time before it died on me. I'll get to some more troubleshooting right now.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2013, 05:26 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Rjukan, Norway
Posts: 59

My System Specs

Default

Damnit! I had it running twice on the mobo box! Now it won't do it again!
I jumpered bot the powersupplies and they ran fine.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2013, 05:31 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Rjukan, Norway
Posts: 59

My System Specs

Default

Well, as i turn away from the computer to write the previous reply, i hear a pretty ******* loud pop!, and when i turn back to jump start the power supplies again, the xfx won't start, but the Chieftec does...

At this point i have installed the MOBO in the case, and i can enter the bios using my graphics card. My RAM, CPu and GPU seem to be running fine, but as soon as i connect either my HDD or SSD via SATA and SATA power, it won't boot. I wonder if it's the MOBO or PSU that are rejecting the HDD/SSD...
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2013, 06:17 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,949
Default

remove MB and test on box

have a voltmeter to check PSU sata power polarity
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2013, 07:39 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Rjukan, Norway
Posts: 59

My System Specs

Default

Seems the HDD and the SSD are both fried, and i'll see if i can't get a hold of a tried and tested one in good condition, as it seems they might just be the last piece of the puzzle keeping me from running at 100% again.
I will see if i can't get a new XFX psu from my retailer as it seems it just shorted out on it's own :s And i won't be running all my hardware off of the Chieftec one. I don't really trust it based on reviews i've seen, even though mine has been good to me.
If i can get into the OS with another HDD i will assume that my XFX PSU fried the P67 along with the HDD/SSD, and it was luck(?) that kept it from frying the Z77 an hour ago.

PS. It seems all of my RAM (4x4GB) is doing just fine aswell, and neither of my GPU's seem to have taken any damage. But i'll hopefully get to confirm that once i get an OS running again!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
asus , boot , motherboars , sabertooth

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't boot up! Scripter Troubleshooting 22 May 18, 2010 08:12 AM
Reboot and select proper boot device or insert boot media in selected boot device BrianHanna Troubleshooting 44 February 11, 2010 01:13 PM
My Boot settings (Bootsect.bak/Boot directory) installed to another HDD? chouchou Troubleshooting 7 December 21, 2008 07:46 PM
cant boot into XP magictorch Troubleshooting 2 November 17, 2007 02:42 PM