Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old June 22, 2013, 02:38 PM
Top Prospect

Default Audio Recording Crashes, Help!

Hi all,

I am a musician, but I can not get a build together that won't mess up my recording process.
been through several headache am2+ builds

I have a q9450 with a gigabyte ud3l, kingston 4gb of ram, new WD 500gb black hard drive, several options of firewire cards, and video cards, good psu, TI firewire card...

IT should be great!
It can playback intense audio sessions..

BUT AS SOON AS I HIT RECORD, it sucks!!!!!!!!!! glitches, stutters for a while, then blue screens on me.. within around 10seconds.

It can run games, videos, all sorts of stuff forever..

I keep thinking it might be a firewire problem, and maybe it is, but blue screen?!
Interface is a saffire pro 40, should be awesome!

I monitor cpu usage, 25%

I have replaced almost everything in the computer,

new: ram, psu, video cards, hard drive, firewire cards....

Is it the cpu? Firewire? I have tried different drivers for the firewire...

I am running out of ideas,

Help!

Thanks...
Old June 22, 2013, 03:29 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

My System Specs

Do you have access to a MIDI card or anything of the sort to rule out firewire and/or your onboard soundcard?

Otherwise all you can really do is stress test your CPU/RAM. (memtest, prime95, etc)
Old June 22, 2013, 03:45 PM
Allstar

A quick Googling suggest disable on-board audio via BIOS. BSOD usually point to some kind of hardware problem so I suggest you try doing RAM test first. But if you have long gaming sessions without lock up, it may be the audio hardware conflicting.
Old June 22, 2013, 05:10 PM
Hall Of Fame

what software using ? to rec

may be made for some other OS

then need a cache for program
Old June 22, 2013, 08:03 PM
Top Prospect

So... It is a firewire issue.

How exactly I am still completely baffled about.

I am in windows 7 ultimate 32bit