Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 18, 2013, 06:58 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 141

My System Specs

Default Intel RAID problems

I set up a RAID 5 array with 4 seagate barracuda green 2 Tb HDDs, back when they were cheap. Ever since I set it up, there was sometimes a delay while the disks spun up, but it sounds like one was having a problem getting up to speed. I can hear it start spinning, then it makes a gurgling sound, and repeats those two sounds a few times. This problem seems to be getting worse lately

I've verified the array with the Intel RST tool, and looked at the SMART data on the drives, but nothing looks out of the ordinary.

Is there any way I can find out which drive is acting up without unplugging them one at a time and rebuilding the array?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 18, 2013, 07:28 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,561
Default

Unplug the drive and use it in another computer, while the box with the RAID is off?

Could it also be a power issue? Doesn't sound like a staggered startup from your description..
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 18, 2013, 08:09 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,845
Default

agree check power to the drives sounds like a poor connection or bad data cable . use a known good cable to check each drive per boot-up till find issue
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 20, 2013, 04:00 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 141

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for the advice, I'll give it a go this weekend when I have some free time.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2013, 05:03 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 141

My System Specs

Default

You guys were spot on. After removing all the drives and testing all the data cables, I found one corner of the SATA power connector had broken off and was wedged in so that the power connector didn't go in all the way. I pulled it out with a pair of tweezers and things have been working smoothly ever since.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel Raid 1 experience botat29 Storage 1 January 29, 2013 05:55 AM
Intel 320 and X-25 G2 together in Raid 0? dandelioneater Storage 7 November 12, 2012 08:13 AM
Samsung 830 Raid 0 OR Intel 520 Raid 0 Tainger Storage 1 July 2, 2012 06:33 AM
Raid Setup Problems xilocient Storage 1 July 11, 2011 05:37 PM
Migrating Intel RAID JD Storage 7 March 26, 2011 09:25 PM