Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old June 12, 2013, 05:25 AM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

I seem to have corrected the issue. I completely dismantled the thing, inspected everything under the microscope, gave it a few blasts of air to make sure something hadn't got in and was causing problems, then gave the connectors a zap of contact cleaner and put it back together, thus far it appears to be working. Probably this damp climate hopefully it will keep behaving once I get the last screws in.
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old June 12, 2013, 05:49 AM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 990

My System Specs

Default

Will probably go wonky again if you move the laptop or apply pressure to the GPU area.
I had a similar problem on mine that had an ATI card in there. Problem was same as a previous poster mentioned, the GPU or CPU BGA was messed up and needed to be reflowed.
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old June 12, 2013, 06:59 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,923
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zoob View Post
Will probably go wonky again if you move the laptop or apply pressure to the GPU area.
I had a similar problem on mine that had an ATI card in there. Problem was same as a previous poster mentioned, the GPU or CPU BGA was messed up and needed to be reflowed.

a good hair dryer 20 min to gpu solder area with gpu down and solder up
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old June 12, 2013, 08:35 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,308

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaptCrunch View Post
a good hair dryer 20 min to gpu solder area with gpu down and solder up
I agree with this it sound like the video card because it still happened hen connected to a separate monitor .
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old June 12, 2013, 05:09 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,846

My System Specs

Default

What was the fix?
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old June 13, 2013, 07:18 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,417

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond007 View Post
What was the fix?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr_BenD_over View Post
I seem to have corrected the issue. I completely dismantled the thing, inspected everything under the microscope, gave it a few blasts of air to make sure something hadn't got in and was causing problems, then gave the connectors a zap of contact cleaner and put it back together, thus far it appears to be working. Probably this damp climate hopefully it will keep behaving once I get the last screws in.
Probably no way to tell for sure.....
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old June 13, 2013, 08:50 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,308

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond007 View Post
What was the fix?
could have been a loose connection around the hinges but no real way to be sure
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old July 2, 2013, 06:38 AM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

Oh well, went to use it over the weekend on an uneven surface and it's screwed up again. I found another 8200 at work that has who knows what wrong with it, I might be able to merge the 2 and get one halfway reliable one that doesn't stop working when I'm on the road.

EDIT: It appears to be mostly functional. Slightly slower CPU, CDROM instead of a DVD, battery is toast, missing delete key. I should be able to swap out the drives and reconfigure the BIOS easily enough and not even have to do an OS re-install.
__________________
All's well that's Haswell

Last edited by Dr_BenD_over; July 2, 2013 at 07:04 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fubar'd Quickfire CroSsFiRe2009 Price Check 3 March 22, 2012 08:16 PM
Guess whose back! enaberif Off Topic 22 October 7, 2011 03:10 PM
Fubar 2 cmac79 Off Topic 4 September 22, 2010 05:13 PM
Can you guess what is it? Dazmode Water Cooling 20 June 22, 2010 11:27 AM
Wandering pointer on my craptop. Dr_BenD_over Troubleshooting 4 July 10, 2009 09:57 AM