Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 8, 2013, 06:14 AM
Gellidius's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Quebec
Posts: 349

My System Specs

Default copyng/transcoding DVDs

for a few months now, i've been unable to make copies of my DVDs, whatever program i use to do it, whether it be Nero recode or DVD copy; or Any Video Converter, AVS Video Converter, or DVD-cloner9, or Movavi, etc...

i always use AnyDVD to get rid of anti-copy protection.

Most programs freeze after a few seconds or after doing 20% of the work.
when the latter happens, i play the parts that have been done, and the images
are heavily pixelized, so much so that it is difficult to recognize what's on the display.

this happens even after a reinstallation of W7-64 and those AV programs.

does anyone have a solution to this.
i'm thinking i will need to format the C drive and reinstall everything, but this would be my last option,
as it would take me 2-3 days to do this.
__________________
Jacques


Ego cogito, ergo deus non est.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 8, 2013, 06:59 AM
WhippWhapp's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 182

My System Specs

Default

You're doing disc to disc, or making rips?

I use MagicDVD to rip raw mpeg2, then encode with Staxrip or AutoGK.
__________________
I rub and whack and choke and stroke!

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 8, 2013, 08:13 AM
Gellidius's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Quebec
Posts: 349

My System Specs

Default

i do both types.
__________________
Jacques


Ego cogito, ergo deus non est.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 8, 2013, 04:34 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Saskatoon
Posts: 161
Default

AnyDVD is great for stripping the copy protection, and for ripping to disc. After ripping the movie, perhaps try using HandBrake for conversion. You may want to also watch system temps, and possibly test ram and run chkdsk for good measure. Transcoding can be quite memory intensive at times, and if you have over clocked your system try running at stock clocks to see if that may be your issue.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 8, 2013, 04:47 PM
dustin1706's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Alberta
Posts: 625

My System Specs

Default

Sounds like you have a heat/stability issue with your memory or ram. As mentioned above ripping utilizes quite a big chunk of your system resources. The very first thing I would try is putting your OC back to stock as well as your memory speeds etc. Also, leave your performance tab of your task manager open and some program to monitor CPU temp while ripping to see what's going on.

I do a ton of ripping and my favourite combo is MakeMKV to rip and Handbrake to transcode.
__________________
Rig1 in "My System Specs"
Rig2: Q6600, P5DN-D, GTX650, 4GB HyperX, LG BD drive, TT armor case, ek supreme HF, 655 pump, XP
Dell XPS17 - i7 2820QM, 8GB ram, 1920x1080, BluRay, GT555m 3GB, 240gb Neutron GTX, 640GB Seagate, Win7 64
Server - i5 3450, Asus P8Z77-I Deluxe, 4GB DDR3, LSI MegaRAID 9240-8I, OCZ Vertex 4 120GB, 2x SG Barracuda 3TB(RAID1), 2x WD green 2TB(RAID1), Fractal Design Array R2, WHS 2011
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2013, 02:19 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 9
Default

have you tried windows media player?...
I've used it couple of times with success.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2013, 05:54 AM
Gellidius's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Quebec
Posts: 349

My System Specs

Default

so far, i've put the clock back to stock, tried 7 programs including windows media player, and it never works;
usually a program freezes while loading the DVD files or when starting conversion; some of them freeze after a few minutes.

temps are good, CPU around 27-30c. - NB around 40-45c. - GPU around 40-45c.

cooling fans in this pc were installed for high loads, and CPU internal temps have never exceeded 52c.

i forgot to say that for a while now dvds have some difficulty loading in the burner or they don't load at all.
even if a dvd does load ok, copying or conversion does not work.

i will next check the ram and will run something i haven't done for a long time: chkdsk.
__________________
Jacques


Ego cogito, ergo deus non est.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2013, 10:32 AM
Father Fuzzy's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: B.C.
Posts: 436

My System Specs

Default

Try DVD fab works for me

free trial works excellent
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2013, 11:15 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Brampton, Ontario
Posts: 53

My System Specs

Default

I feel like we're all missing the most obvious troubleshooting advice. Try a different DVD drive. It really sounds like the issue is that the drive is failing.
__________________
Personal Rig: See System Specs
HTPC: Pentium G3420, MSI H81i, 4GB G-Skill DDR3 1333, PNY Quadro 4000, 400GB Recertified Seagate, 1TB WD Caviar Green, 750GB WD Caviar Blue 2.5", Cooler Master Elite 120 Advanced, Windows 7 x64, 32" Seiki LCD TV, Panasonic SA-HE75 5.1 Reciever
9x Gamer: eMachines eOne - 433 Mhz Celeron, 64 MB RAM, 8MB ATI Rage XL, 6GB HDD, Windows 98se
9x Gamer #2: 500 Mhz Pentium III, 512MB Ram, nVidia Geforce 5600, 20GB HDD, Windows ME
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2013, 02:39 PM
Gellidius's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Quebec
Posts: 349

My System Specs

Default

LHN, what you say makes lots of sense; i'll take the pc to the tech soon and see what he finds.
__________________
Jacques


Ego cogito, ergo deus non est.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ripping DVDs and Set top Box great_big_abyss HTPC Systems & Software 2 October 11, 2012 05:46 PM
[FS] DVDs Entourage season 1-6 Lefty67 Buy/Sell & Trade 4 February 5, 2011 02:29 PM
300 DVDs On A Single Disc? Gellidius Off Topic 14 September 14, 2009 05:12 PM
PS3 and DVDs CanadaRox Gaming 7 December 30, 2008 09:06 AM
dvd-r wont play dvds magictorch Storage 7 September 27, 2007 01:41 AM