Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old May 16, 2013, 09:09 AM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,256

My System Specs

Default

I sent mine to the Asus RMA depot in Ontario. On the info they gave me they stated that the replacement they give me may be used or refurbished. I guess the treatment I receive will determine how much business I do with Asus in the future. Up to this point I have had no trouble with Asus products.
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old May 16, 2013, 09:44 AM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Yes apparently everything I've read dealing with Asus Canada they replace borked Boards with refurbished Boards.....provided they "test" these Boards I dont think its an issue, although if you spend approx. $450 on a Mobo that is "borked out of the box" and for whatever reason fall out of the NCIX 30 Day return policy, you wont get a new Board back.....hhhhhmmmm, this I dont think I would be all that pleased with,,,,,,,,

Anyhow, hope it goes well for you!!!
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old May 16, 2013, 03:15 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,528
Default

Man , that sucks guys....

I'm on my second RivE as well......I half-killed the first one.....Bad/zapped southy in my case , but the jury is still out.....It's on the shelf waiting for re-testing.

I was denied RMA.....I just bought a new one.

I'm not sure about memory slots . If you are filling just the red slots , That memory is getting lonely , and needs friends in the black slots.

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old May 16, 2013, 05:27 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

^^^ Yeah it was one of the Red Slots (C1 furthest to the right) that was "dead".......certainly see a lot of fvcked up RIVE Mobo's on the We...oh well,guess like anything you only see / read about all the buggered up Boards as guys with perfectly working Boards are to busy OC'ing or gaming ;)

Thats one thing with that Evga X58 Classified Mobo, never had a single issue with it, really wanted another Evga Board, BUT all the problems they have had with both there Classified and FTW X79 Boards steered me away from them. Anyhow, hopefully this Board is fine, if not the Evga X79 Black will be out in June, doubt they'll risk another flop ;)
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old May 17, 2013, 05:37 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Okay....new Board (RIVE) received his morning, an hour to put Procyon II back together, boot and voila.....16GB RAM...now to "play" !!! Really hoping I can get to 4.6Ghz!!!
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old May 17, 2013, 07:23 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,727

My System Specs

Default

Did it look NIB?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old May 17, 2013, 08:00 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Yep definitely New!!!! Damn still have to check n see which BIOS version.
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old May 17, 2013, 10:07 PM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,256

My System Specs

Default

Nice to get what ya paid for!!!!

I miss mine, gaming on my laptop isn't the same
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old May 20, 2013, 04:36 AM
nasrott's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Newmarket, Ont.
Posts: 462

My System Specs

Default

think i'll stay away from the rive if going 2011. How are temps on those cpu's compared to the 3770k's? Am assuming u guys are using water no?
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old May 20, 2013, 09:45 AM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,256

My System Specs

Default

Trouble is there isn't another board that can compete with the RIVE.
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Asus RIVE and W7 UEFI Install rjbarker O/S's, Drivers & General Software 9 May 6, 2013 09:37 PM
No physix drivers installed after I installed them? Help!! bushwickbill Video Cards 8 February 14, 2013 08:23 AM
Koolance block now avail for RIVE X79 Eldonko Water Cooling 1 November 30, 2011 04:15 PM
two 1GB+one 2GB= 3.12GB? laplapmax RAM 8 February 15, 2011 10:17 PM
4Gb shown, but 12Gb installed? 3.0charlie Troubleshooting 12 July 17, 2009 07:24 AM