Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2013, 09:37 AM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,251

My System Specs

Default

Slot 1A is bad. Will not boot with one stick in that slot, will not boot consistently without pulling ram from that slot and booting with three sticks. I have changed ram, reseated till blue in the face, tried all manner of voltages (too high, too low and everything in-between). Tried bios updates ( which hindered my original overclock). My board is slowly becoming more unstable with random shutdowns. It is RMA time.......

If you get a good overclock with the shipped bios I would not bother to flash to a newer one. Check the ROG forum, results are all over the place with no bios seemingly outperforming the others. I am using Win 7
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2013, 10:06 AM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Yeah ok, hhhmmmmm....not much Quality Control?
Wonder what the ods are of getting another Board with a FUBAR DIMM Slot....

I did try Flashing to 3602, but same result 12Gb instead of installed 16GB showing in both BIOS and Windows System.

Now rip apart and package up, will send today. Of course I have to pay Shipping back + RMA Conditions it has to be "Insured"...with Newegg they Cross Shipped and I didnt have to pay for Shipping back!!!

PS The Board features are nice (BIOS), but quick comparison to my old X58 Evga Classified Board this one feels "cheap"...as in:

DIMM Slot levers on one side only and flimsy thin plastic vs Classy Board had levers on both sides with more robust plastic.

The lever for GPU release is terrible, again poor design and flimsy cheap plastic.

I DO Like the Flashing Tool using only a Thumb Drive, most efficient way I have ever seen to Flash BIOS.
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2013, 10:52 AM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,094

My System Specs

Default

I hate ASUS s one sided Ram retention. I have 4 boards with it and its been a problem with all of them.

usually just bad seats but sill annoying.
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2013, 10:58 AM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,251

My System Specs

Default

RMA initiated.... hope yours goes well. My board has been flakey from day one and I have been tweaking the shit out of it in an attempt to get it stable.
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2013, 11:30 AM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Got an RMA #, all packaged up and shipping this afternoon.
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2013, 03:40 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stoanee View Post
RMA initiated.... hope yours goes well. My board has been flakey from day one and I have been tweaking the shit out of it in an attempt to get it stable.
When you tear apart, have a close look at the Pins on your Socket, I dont know if it was just my eyes playing tricks on me or not (I have glasses and used a cheap small magnifying glass), but it appeared as though the Pins on the right side of the Socket (Mobo orientated North up - as in config when mounted in Chassis) are "slanted" on an angle and not vertical as on the left side ?

Someone told me the right side is the DDR3 Memory Controller side, I was EXTREMELY careful installing the CPU.....just paranoid now NCIX is going to tell me I have bent pins.....

Curious, if it was Bent Pins would NCIX still look after me (repair or replace) or would I be shvt out of luck other than sending it to ASUS.....

Likely have to wait all weekend now to hear something, they should have it tomorrow.
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2013, 03:48 PM
Soullessone21's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 1,322

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjbarker View Post
When you tear apart, have a close look at the Pins on your Socket, I dont know if it was just my eyes playing tricks on me or not (I have glasses and used a cheap small magnifying glass), but it appeared as though the Pins on the right side of the Socket (Mobo orientated North up - as in config when mounted in Chassis) are "slanted" on an angle and not vertical as on the left side ?

Someone told me the right side is the DDR3 Memory Controller side, I was EXTREMELY careful installing the CPU.....just paranoid now NCIX is going to tell me I have bent pins.....

Curious, if it was Bent Pins would NCIX still look after me (repair or replace) or would I be shvt out of luck other than sending it to ASUS.....

Likely have to wait all weekend now to hear something, they should have it tomorrow.
I helped someone here RMA a RIVE 3 times twice he got it back with very bent pins, third time he got it we recorded him opening the shipping box then the board but he lucked out that the third one was damage free :D
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2013, 03:58 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soullessone21 View Post
I helped someone here RMA a RIVE 3 times twice he got it back with very bent pins, third time he got it we recorded him opening the shipping box then the board but he lucked out that the third one was damage free :D
Damn....guess I should know better and "carefully" inspect the Pins and back it up with photos

Any idea how NCIX would handle this if indeed there were bent pins? Would be nice to not have to buy another Board

I KNOW I was super uber careful, I know better than to mishandle, problem is I just dnt know whats going on in there once those levers are closed and I'm mounting my cooler !!! It all seemed to go perfect..no issues, the 100i is a piece of cake to mount on Socket 2011.....I'm doubting myself now!!!
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2013, 08:29 PM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,251

My System Specs

Default

I checked pins when I bought the board and, as part of my troubleshooting, I removed the cpu to check pins with a magnifying glass. I did not see any problems before I went crosseyed but I also took a close-up pic of the pins with the wifes digicam and put it up on the puter monitor for another look. I still did not see anything bad, but did notice all the pins seem to be "slanted".
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2013, 11:17 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for the taking the time to look closely...much appreciated ;) I know what you mean with the eyes going buggy looking at those pins!!

We'll have to keep each other updated on our respective RMA's...cheers
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Asus RIVE and W7 UEFI Install rjbarker O/S's, Drivers & General Software 9 May 6, 2013 08:37 PM
No physix drivers installed after I installed them? Help!! bushwickbill Video Cards 8 February 14, 2013 07:23 AM
Koolance block now avail for RIVE X79 Eldonko Water Cooling 1 November 30, 2011 03:15 PM
two 1GB+one 2GB= 3.12GB? laplapmax RAM 8 February 15, 2011 09:17 PM
4Gb shown, but 12Gb installed? 3.0charlie Troubleshooting 12 July 17, 2009 06:24 AM