Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 2, 2013, 03:13 PM
Pabz0r545's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,301

My System Specs

Default constant switching to desktop in game

Hi guys. I have a friend who is having a problem and I have absolutely no clue what is causing this. His computer keeps constantly going to desktop every couple minutes or so while he is in game, possibly more frequent. It has caused the game to be unplayable for him. The game has an option to disable windows key so that is definitely not the problem which is the first thing I asked him.

He is using my old PC which I had no problems with whatsoever. Is it at all possible this is hardware related or is it just software/driver issues? We have no clue but I would like to help him get it back into full working order so we can game together.

Thanks.
__________________
I'm a damn hoarder lol.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 2, 2013, 03:50 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,582
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pabz0r545 View Post
Hi guys. I have a friend who is having a problem and I have absolutely no clue what is causing this. His computer keeps constantly going to desktop every couple minutes or so while he is in game, possibly more frequent. It has caused the game to be unplayable for him. The game has an option to disable windows key so that is definitely not the problem which is the first thing I asked him.

He is using my old PC which I had no problems with whatsoever. Is it at all possible this is hardware related or is it just software/driver issues? We have no clue but I would like to help him get it back into full working order so we can game together.

Thanks.
Instant Messaging Clients usually do this.. MSN, Xfire etc.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 2, 2013, 04:15 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,308

My System Specs

Default

yes something that you have running in the back ground anything like email software either turn them off or set it to not alert you.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 2, 2013, 04:17 PM
Pabz0r545's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,301

My System Specs

Default

I'm guessing it is not any kind of email or IM's or anything of that sort as he is not really a socialite nor much of a social media user as he just started to use computers recently.

I will ask him though and mention this to him.

Any other guesses or suggestions?
__________________
I'm a damn hoarder lol.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 2, 2013, 04:35 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,364

My System Specs

Default

tell him to hit shift 5 times in a row reasonably fast and disable all windows shortcuts. Key mashers tend to open these sorts of things by accident.
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 2, 2013, 05:12 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,045

My System Specs

Default

might be ardently hitting the windows key under the shift Key if his keyboard has one. happens to me sometimes.
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 2, 2013, 05:23 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,846

My System Specs

Default

can't picture it being anything hardware. Its got to be a program bringing him back, or a button (alt tab/esc/windows). Does it happen if the game is running, but he is not doing anything with it (not touching the keyboard)?
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 2, 2013, 05:52 PM
Pabz0r545's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,301

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clshades View Post
tell him to hit shift 5 times in a row reasonably fast and disable all windows shortcuts. Key mashers tend to open these sorts of things by accident.
I told him to try that. I'll post back once he reports if it works or not. Thanks :)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZZLEE View Post
might be ardently hitting the windows key under the shift Key if his keyboard has one. happens to me sometimes.
As stated in the op the windows key has been disabled in game.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond007 View Post
can't picture it being anything hardware. Its got to be a program bringing him back, or a button (alt tab/esc/windows). Does it happen if the game is running, but he is not doing anything with it (not touching the keyboard)?
Yes it does happen while in game but not doing anything. He said it even happened after a fresh Windows 7 install with just Starcraft 2 installed.


Could it be possible his keyboard is the root cause of the problem? He's using a pretty cheapo microsoft wireless keyboard.
__________________
I'm a damn hoarder lol.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 2, 2013, 06:04 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 700

My System Specs

Default

Go task manager,see if there is running stuff,i don't know,mobo installation disk programs or some norton crap :P Must be software problem..
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 2, 2013, 06:05 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,308

My System Specs

Default

Which game is it or is it any other full screen program? like my xbmc would sometimes go to desktop before I set it to " stay on top" of all other programs , I am still thinking that he or she has a program that has the " Stay on top of other programs" running in the back ground or he or she might have programed a key in the game that when pressed does the alttab happens and like others have said might even be the keyboard it self.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Constant Blue Screens NeilGames Troubleshooting 5 March 29, 2011 06:48 PM
Win 7 Pro constant restarts dennie Troubleshooting 5 March 21, 2011 11:05 AM
Intel Core i7 Custom Desktop Challenge - Could you design the world's coolest desktop? FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 2 October 15, 2009 04:56 AM
Constant crashing & BSOD on new pc. Kayen Troubleshooting 12 August 27, 2008 08:17 PM
Constant Ping spikes Phobia Networking 10 July 24, 2008 06:26 PM