Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 22, 2013, 08:29 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Rjukan, Norway
Posts: 59

My System Specs

Default Sudden death? o.O

A few weeks back, i randomly encountered this major issue with my desktop. One night, just like any other, i turned my PC off via the windows start meny shut down, and went to bed. The day after, feeling tired from school, i hit the power switch as i usually do, and went to the bathroom to let her go through the bios screens and fire up. When i came back though, nothing had happened. So i hit the power switch again. Still, nothing. I have tried booting her with my graphics cards in different slots, pulled out all the ram and seated a single stick once in every slot. I tried no hard drives, and no peripherals, and even reseating the leads to the power switch. Still nothing happens when i hit it. I also tried a different PSU, as i had one laying around. I am completely at a loss here.. It seems it can only be the motherboard that has crapped out on me (but there are no odd lights that would indicate so), or the i5. Keep in mind that this rig ran strong for one and a half years before this.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 22, 2013, 08:41 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,732

My System Specs

Default

Did you try bypassing the power switch completely? Try momentarily shorting out the pins on the motherboard that the power switch lead would normally be on.

Are you seeing any action at all and/or power lights on the MB?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 22, 2013, 08:50 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Rjukan, Norway
Posts: 59

My System Specs

Default

I guess i should have included this but yes, when i hit the switch the fans move just ever so slightly, and the led's turn on for a second, but then nothing.. So the switch works.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 22, 2013, 09:20 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,732

My System Specs

Default

It sounds like you've tried just about everything, but just to be sure......... Did you do a cmos reset? How about a complete bare bones build outside of the case?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 22, 2013, 12:50 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Rjukan, Norway
Posts: 59

My System Specs

Default

Nah, i really didn't want to get into those things before checking out the forums.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 22, 2013, 12:56 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,732

My System Specs

Default

cmos reset would be the first thing as you can do that without having to disturb anything else. Sometimes the data in the bios just gets corrupted and it needs a kick in the rear end to get it going again.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 22, 2013, 01:01 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: St. John's, Newfoundland
Posts: 417
Default

Loose cpu power cable would make the fans spin for a moment before stopping no?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 22, 2013, 01:29 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,408

My System Specs

Default

I would check to make sure that all of the motherboard plug ins are connected properly, I had a motherboard that was finick with one of the main wires from my PSU one stinking wired made my PC not post took me about 10 minutes to figure that out. I powered down and looked at the connectors they looked ok but when I plugged back in the main ATX one of the wires was not connecting I had to push each individual wire until I found the culprit
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 23, 2013, 09:40 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,458

My System Specs

Default

if you were overclocking and it randomly decided to fail (which can happen) resetting the bios is the best option.
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2013, 03:09 AM
OC-Guru's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: London, UK
Posts: 121

My System Specs

Default

checked to see if the power socket itself is working? :)
__________________
Gaming rig: UNDER CONSTRUCTION!
Wife's rig / D3 Bot PC: 2x Xeon E5335 @ 2Ghz (8C/8T) | 24GB DDR2 RAM | ASUS GTS 450 1GB | HP OEM Socket 771 Motherboard | 4x Seagate ST9900805SS RAID0
D3 BT - Crispe#2349 (EU) - add me! :)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
clue , computer , dies , led , troubleshooting

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sudden power loss inTaiwan Troubleshooting 1 February 28, 2012 05:57 PM
Cod 4 sudden freeze? JustDepends Gaming 11 July 16, 2011 09:52 AM
Gmail all of a sudden sticking everything in spam muse108dc Off Topic 2 May 24, 2011 10:21 PM
Sudden Surge of EUE. Caused by Heat? geokilla HardwareCanucks F@H Team 5 May 29, 2010 08:04 AM
DVD sudden disappear help pp1111 Troubleshooting 7 April 28, 2009 01:14 PM