Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2013, 12:29 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,358

My System Specs

Default Windows activation problem

Hi,

I've had this Lenovo X120e for about 2 years now and I've almost immediately changed the HDD for a SSD, then about 7-8 months ago, the SSD was giving me problems. I sent it back and when it came back around October or November, I reinstalled everything, reentered the product key for Windows 7 from Lenovo. Everything worked fine until about 2-3 weeks ago where it said that my copy of Windows is not Genuine. When I type my product ID, it gives me the Error Code 0xC004F063.

I'm quite puzzled as to what I should do now. There were no hardware changes other than more RAM 2 years ago and the SSD I just talked about.

**Solved**
__________________

Last edited by Kilauea; April 20, 2013 at 09:30 PM.
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2013, 12:34 PM
Caldezar's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Burnaby
Posts: 1,612

My System Specs

Default

Try the phone activation, that will quite often resolve the issue.
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2013, 12:54 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,358

My System Specs

Default

brrrr... phone... Sorry, I must be super dumb, cuz I never called M$, but apparently they will only give me the (*(*&? number to call them when I am in the process of activating through an option which should be clearly seen. But either my glasses let me see through this option or its not there. Anyone has a clue of what the phone number is. Even when disconnecting the Wi-Fi, it tries to connect to the Internet to validate my product key, way to go M$.
__________________
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2013, 01:20 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,851
Default

simple go to dollar store an get magyfing glass or change to 480x640res click
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2013, 01:24 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,358

My System Specs

Default

If you refer to clicking on your link and then pressing on Windows 7. The problem is that I am not given the option "Use automated phone service to activate", that is what I tried to say (in a very clumsy manner) in my previous post.
__________________
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2013, 01:25 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,225

My System Specs

Default

How to contact a Microsoft Product Activation Center by telephone

With any luck that will get you through to the correct regional call center.
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2013, 01:56 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,358

My System Specs

Default

Ok, so apparently my key of Windows is blocked and I had to contact Lenovo who then told me they can't do sh*t about it other than sell me this 55$ recovery disk which will magically unblock my CD key.

Thanks for your support.
__________________
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2013, 02:18 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,851
Default

just call MS and give your COA / prodect key # in upper boxes and they will give a new key# in the lower boxes on 3.

if your getting wrong call numbers then you got a overseas copy of instalation disk

if your not getting these screens you have a illeagal copy of OS
Attached Images
 
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2013, 02:38 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,535

My System Specs

Default

Yep. SSD replacement is a valid reason for ms to activate it over the phone, it's all automated, you don't actually speak to anyone.
__________________
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2013, 02:42 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,358

My System Specs

Default

I am not getting these screens and my copy was valid for the past 2 years bought directly from Lenovo... I find it rather hard to believe it is now illegal.
__________________
Closed Thread


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My first experience with Windows phone activation. JayDeeHobbit O/S's, Drivers & General Software 1 October 25, 2011 06:33 PM
Hard drive problem or Windows 7 Problem?! aeminence New Builds 4 October 13, 2011 06:46 AM
Windows activation lock out? btecanada O/S's, Drivers & General Software 4 April 22, 2010 01:20 PM
Windows XP Problem... somecanadianguy O/S's, Drivers & General Software 4 August 23, 2009 11:09 AM
Windows Vista Activation Cracked Yet Again Supergrover Press Releases & Tech News 2 January 1, 2007 02:29 PM