Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2013, 02:17 PM
Jim's Avatar
Jim Jim is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: an hour out of Calgary
Posts: 405
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaptCrunch View Post
or go wet with corsair h80
h80 is primarily greater fluid capacity ?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2013, 02:21 PM
Jim's Avatar
Jim Jim is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: an hour out of Calgary
Posts: 405
Default

btw I never have side the case so it's wide,don't know if that matters mush
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2013, 05:15 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,386

My System Specs

Default

phenom II what flavor? I had trouble getting to 4.0 with mine... Depends on your ram too and I'm pretty sure cpu cooling isn't the problem. The northbridge on those phenom boards gets pretty hot so I had to water cool mine to stabilize it. Which chipset are you dealing with?
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2013, 05:43 PM
Jim's Avatar
Jim Jim is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: an hour out of Calgary
Posts: 405
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clshades View Post
phenom II what flavor? I had trouble getting to 4.0 with mine... Depends on your ram too and I'm pretty sure cpu cooling isn't the problem. The northbridge on those phenom boards gets pretty hot so I had to water cool mine to stabilize it. Which chipset are you dealing with?
chip set
AMD 880G/SB850 , GSKILL Ripjaw I'm thinkin into the 70,s temp wise isn't good

Last edited by Jim; April 12, 2013 at 05:50 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2013, 06:25 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,921

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim View Post
So your saying the point spread between coolmaster and is water negligible ?I'm guessing the 965 won't clock much past 4.0.I'd be happy if I could reach that level with temp control.
Not saying its negligible, since its really depends on which coolers you are comparing. The best air coolers out there can compete with mid to some high end water coolers. In all honesty I don't follow liquid cooling that closely, but here is a start for budget ones:

Compact Liquid Cooling Systems Roundup. Part I: Water on a Budget - X-bit labs

There is a follow on review comparing higher end coolers on that site as well. My comment was based on the fact that a high end liquid cooling vs the 212 may only get you an extra 100mhz on an OC. A x4 965 is only worth $90 new now, so I wouldn't invest $60+ on a cooler for it. If you want a good cooler that you will carry forward into a future computer as well, then by all means research and take your pick.

***as an aside make sure your case will support either the size of a tower air cooler, or has a mounting location for a water setup.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2013, 06:39 PM
Jim's Avatar
Jim Jim is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: an hour out of Calgary
Posts: 405
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond007 View Post
Not saying its negligible, since its really depends on which coolers you are comparing. The best air coolers out there can compete with mid to some high end water coolers. In all honesty I don't follow liquid cooling that closely, but here is a start for budget ones:
well said,understood,thanks

Compact Liquid Cooling Systems Roundup. Part I: Water on a Budget - X-bit labs

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond007 View Post
There is a follow on review comparing higher end coolers on that site as well. My comment was based on the fact that a high end liquid cooling vs the 212 may only get you an extra 100mhz on an OC. A x4 965 is only worth $90 new now, so I wouldn't invest $60+ on a cooler for it. If you want a good cooler that you will carry forward into a future computer as well, then by all means research and take your pick.
very informative.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond007 View Post
***as an aside make sure your case will support either the size of a tower air cooler, or has a mounting location for a water setup.
yea still rockin a huge Antec I've had forever,weighs a ton,anything fits
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2013, 07:24 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,386

My System Specs

Default

Ok well I don't have much experience with the 8xx chipsets only the 9xx chipsets which are pretty decent. I did manage to get my 1090t to 3.9 ghz on water @ 1.5v but that was an older block and I haven't tried since I bought the rasa block.

The 965 is right at it's edge at 4.0 ghz and only a few people have ever gotten a good stable 4ghz OC. I'm assuming you have some play in the bios to tweak the ram which is basically what you're gonna have to do to really stabilize that OC. I would imagine your northbridge is wanting more voltage too.

If you are 60c (giver or take) at 4GHZ on air I'm gonna quess maybe 50c on water giver or take. I will give it a shot when I get home from work and see what kind temps I get on water. I can also disable cores in my bios and help get a more accurate reading.

What voltage are you using?
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2013, 08:50 PM
Jim's Avatar
Jim Jim is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: an hour out of Calgary
Posts: 405
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clshades View Post
What voltage are you using?
This is what I went with to get 4.0,works fine at desktop,only craters after 20-25 minutes of gaming.Northbridge 1.8 volts set auto.Would be nice to do something,the video card definitely starts to choke on bf3 full Ultra once 4.0 is dialed back.

Last edited by Jim; April 12, 2013 at 09:05 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2013, 09:14 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,386

My System Specs

Default

try dialing your ram back from 1600 to 1400 or so and see if it lasts longer... voltage is 1.425 on the cpu it might need a tad more.
Full ultra is asking a lot from a 660 imo. Maybe try a lower gfx setting and see if it lasts longer... I would actually start timing it if you are really keen on getting that high OC. In the end if it isn't stable there's not much point heh.

I gotta say man that's pretty good on air.

on another note the ram timing may need to be dropped too... pretty standard for high overclocks.
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old April 13, 2013, 06:53 AM
Jim's Avatar
Jim Jim is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: an hour out of Calgary
Posts: 405
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clshades View Post
try dialing your ram back from 1600 to 1400 or so and see if it lasts longer... voltage is 1.425 on the cpu it might need a tad more.
Full ultra is asking a lot from a 660 imo. Maybe try a lower gfx setting and see if it lasts longer... I would actually start timing it if you are really keen on getting that high OC. In the end if it isn't stable there's not much point heh.
Quote:
Originally Posted by clshades View Post
Full ultra is asking a lot from a 660 imo
lolz yea I plugged it in and everything was @ Ultra,I come from nearly 2 years of bf3 on xbox so I got a bit excited



Quote:
Originally Posted by clshades View Post
I gotta say man that's pretty good on air.

on another note the ram timing may need to be dropped too... pretty standard for high overclocks.
yea good call, ram's at 1333,just used the multiplier,running @ 3.8 ,66c ,steady for hours (no blues),dropped the multi raised the frequency (ram to 1500),heat was 75ish (in game) think I need to get that under control and like you say back the timing off,here's a pic as they now stand what'd you recommend? thanks much,btw

Last edited by Jim; April 13, 2013 at 08:47 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Interim Cooling Solution Overclocking.ca Water Cooling 7 August 25, 2012 11:12 AM
Best Cooling solution for i7-3960X ipaine Air Cooling 10 June 27, 2012 09:28 PM
I need a better solution - M-ITX cooling Dr_BenD_over Air Cooling 7 February 4, 2011 05:44 PM
EVGA GTX 280 Cooling Solution Rison Video Cards 15 February 11, 2010 05:53 PM
Most Powerful Cooling Solution? Wall86 Water Cooling 22 October 20, 2009 03:12 PM