Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 25, 2013, 07:06 AM
gimark's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 74

My System Specs

Default Probably simple...

Hi everyone,

Having an issue I haven't had before, and thanks in advance for any input; here it is:
I am upgrading my old video card a Geforce GTX 285 to a Asus HD 7770. When the new card is installed the monitors do receive a signal but they will not boot to bios. Connections are good and I have tried reseating the card half a dozen times; also no visible damage. The green light appears on the video card indicating power.

My question is will will the card boot to bios with no driver installed? I have yet to install the catalyst drivers and at the moment the nvidia ones are still installed. The motherboard is a gigabyte ep35 ds3r. I would think that I should be able to get to bios, but am not sure about onboard video or potential conflicts. Before I RMA the card thought it would be best to confirm this.

gimark
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 25, 2013, 07:09 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,425

My System Specs

Default

Yes it should be able to get into bios without any drivers installed. That's a hardware/firmware function as opposed to drivers which are an OS function.

Did you do a cmos reset?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 25, 2013, 12:33 PM
gimark's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 74

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Did you do a cmos reset?
Nope.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 25, 2013, 01:05 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,425

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gimark View Post
Nope.
Heh... you should try one then.... that should clear any possible resource conflicts.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 25, 2013, 03:29 PM
gimark's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 74

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Heh... you should try one then.... that should clear any possible resource conflicts.
Will do. Thanks for your help.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Simple question? BrutalGreen Cases 3 June 24, 2011 01:20 PM
Simple OC question. Thalmaray Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 1 May 15, 2010 09:37 AM
EVGA P55 V - Sometimes Simple is Best Soultribunal Press Releases & Tech News 17 December 9, 2009 05:06 PM
Simple CPU Swap Vdub90 New Builds 9 December 5, 2009 07:26 PM
Hopefully A Simple one Soultribunal Troubleshooting 4 March 27, 2009 07:35 PM