Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 18, 2013, 11:06 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 9
Default Graphics card help issue ?.. with PCI-E

System Specs are :

750W PSU
ASROCK G31-M 2.0
4GB MEMORY DDR2
Q8200 CPU

Was given this computer from a friend for my son and along with it was a GTX 260 XFX card
But this card has 2 slots for PCI-E and a small 2 pin plug next to it

Now the PSU thats in the Computer has one plug for PCI-E will it work with just the one or will i need to get another PSU ?

Help please
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 18, 2013, 11:24 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,084

My System Specs

Default

The card will not run without 2 PCI-E 6-pin connectors plugged in. There are adapters available to convert 2 molex 4-pin connectors to 1 6-pin connector like this: nGear 4 Pin Male Molex Power to 6 Pin PCI-E Power Adapter Cable
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 18, 2013, 12:02 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,604
Default

Did I miss something?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 18, 2013, 12:03 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,604
Default

Make and model of PSU please. Hard to believe a 750w would only have 1 connector and if it does I wouldn't even use the adapter you can use to bridge molex to pci-e!

Those adapters are asking for trouble as is.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 18, 2013, 12:14 PM
Lpfan4ever's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,763

My System Specs

Default

Somebody made a new thread instead of a reply, heh.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp
I don't know, maybe if you get a big enough compacticator you can put it in your butt and name yourself "sexbuttplug"...
Code:
<martin_metal_88> I think I am gonna sell my server
...
<firebane> i will offer pereniums mom
<firebane> slightly used
<Keltron> slightly is an understatement
<LPfan4ever> Who're you kidding...slightly?
<martin_metal_88> peri's mom, slightly used? lol...

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 18, 2013, 12:19 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,084

My System Specs

Default

Duplicate threads merged.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 18, 2013, 01:30 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 9
Default

Yeah sorry thought it was my fault as I tried to show a picture of the system
As mod stated to me because I have less than 5 posts not able too

Anyway ...yeah the PSU has only 1 PCI-E on it and dont fancy adding a converter from molex as I heard there not that great..
So Bought another 750W with 2 PCI-E ...well thats what supplier is stating it says this :

Artic Blue 750W Power Supply Unit PSU
12 Months Warranty
Product Info:
  • 750W ATX PC Power Supply Unit Silent fan technology
  • 24 & 20 Pin Ready
  • 3 x Sata
  • Supports all AMD and Intel PC's Dimensions: 149 x 84 x 138 (mm)
  • ROHS Compliant PSU Ratings: +3.3V = 24A +5V = 30A +12V1 = 32A +12V2 = 32A +12V3 = 32A +12V4 = 32A -12V = 0.5A +5VSB = 3.0A
Connectors Included:
  • 1 x 24 & 20 Pin Main Power
  • 1 x 8 (4+4) pin Main Power
  • 4 x Molex Power 1 x FDD Power
  • 3 x Serial ATA Power
  • 1 x 6 Pin (+2) 1x 6 Pin
Got this reply after I asked him a question about needing 2 pci-e's :
Quote:
The PCI-E 6+2 pin is a connector that can be used
as an 8-pin connection, with the additonal two pins being removable so that
it can connect to a 6-pin connection. If your graphics card needs 2x 6-pin
this will be fine.
So am assuming this will be ok, yes?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 18, 2013, 02:05 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,604
Default

If your looking into buying a new PSU give us a budget and where you live?

I have never heard of "Artic Blue" and personally you don't want to mess around with crap.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2013, 04:19 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,386

My System Specs

Default

He's right... never mess around with cheap PSU's. They could cost you the entire computer when they blow up. I've seen this so many times from Antec psu's it makes me wanna spew.
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2013, 05:08 PM
IRQ Conflict's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Drayton Valley, AB
Posts: 1,566

My System Specs

Default

Could you give us a link to the actual product page?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Graphics Issue - GTX 560 Ti Valneroth Troubleshooting 10 March 7, 2012 08:50 AM
Is graphics card X more or less powerful than graphics card Y Linus LinusTechTips Q&A 1 October 4, 2011 05:50 AM
Intel HD Graphics with Graphics Card MoUnit CPU's and Motherboards 4 August 6, 2011 03:54 PM
Which graphics card should I get? deltatux Video Cards 12 July 20, 2011 06:33 PM
AMD Extends Graphics Performance Lead, Launches World's Fastest Graphics Card? Again! FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 2 March 8, 2011 02:32 PM