Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 13, 2013, 03:02 PM
Trial Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1
Default GTX 690 running 3 1440P monitors in surround?

Hey, I just purchased an EVGA GeForce GTX 690 EVGA 04G-P4-2690-KR GeForce GTX 690 4GB 512-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card - Newegg.com and I have three 30" 2560x1440 resolution monitors and I want to run in NVidia 3d surround. The 690 has 2x Dual-Link DVi connectors, a single link DVi connector and a mini display port connector. All of my monitors use Dual-Link DVi connectors and I don't know if I can run all 3 monitors off of this one card. Performance wise I don't care too much, just want to know if it's possible. I found this connector Newegg.com - Accell B087B-003J Mini DisplayPort to DVI Dual-Link Adapter on newegg that says it's an active mini display port to dual link dvi connector so I was thinking I can use that to power the third monitor but I'm unsure. Anyone here know a way that I can run all 3 Dual-Link DVi 1440p monitors on one 690?

Thanks ahead of time!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 13, 2013, 05:35 PM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,500

My System Specs

Default

Maybe with SLI it could handle that resolution, but even a single 690 will choke if you can get that resolution to work. My PC struggles with 5760X1080 with any newish titles, I'd not even both with any recent releases that are demanding.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 13, 2013, 05:55 PM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,055

My System Specs

Default

Yes it is possible to run 3 displays at that resolution on the 690. But like b1lk1 said running games at that res will push that card to its limits.

As for that connector I'm not completely sure you would need an active one. Actually are you not sure that all of your dvi ports are dual link? From what I can tell you should have 2 DVI-I dual link ports and one DVI-D dual link port. All 3 should support 2560x1600. I think.
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."


Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GTX 650 Ti for 1440p RTS gaming Generic User #2 Video Cards 4 October 14, 2012 07:30 PM
just a little help is all 2d nvidia surround gingerbee Display Units 6 December 15, 2011 06:00 PM
3d monitors in nvidia 3d surround campu0999 Display Units 9 December 1, 2011 01:38 AM
Running 3x 120Hz Acer LCD monitors on my 6990 and can't get Eyefinity working! Linus LinusTechTips Q&A 0 September 30, 2011 11:09 AM
Catalyst crash when running dual monitors jeep11 Troubleshooting 0 December 25, 2009 07:23 PM