Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old March 13, 2013, 02:55 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Debert/ Glace Bay
Posts: 102

My System Specs

Default

MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMK.

Its the case.... its has to be. The computer works fine outside of the case, but when its in the case it refuses to boot, saying theres a short.

Its a BitFenix Outlaw case, and the standoff are lower profile than im used to using. Maybe they are too low for some of the pins on my mobo?

rawr. I dont have enough time to deal with this tonight, but maybe on the weekend if i can get far enough ahead in my work.
__________________
Bought Items:
GTX 470 from ZeroFlux
Swiftech MCW60 from chubaka

Sold Items:
Steelseries Siberia V2 to MAK
Zalman Fan Controller, OCZ Mem Fan Funguseater


Lots of bad things happen in life all the time. You can't control them, so just be happy!
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old March 14, 2013, 12:41 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Debert/ Glace Bay
Posts: 102

My System Specs

Default

UPDATE:
I covered the back of my mobo in electrical tape and it boots no problem in the case......... So i contacted Bitfenix with my issue, and am awaiting a response.

i cant sell the computer in good spirit knowing i have plastered black tape to the back of it... so we'll see! lol
__________________
Bought Items:
GTX 470 from ZeroFlux
Swiftech MCW60 from chubaka

Sold Items:
Steelseries Siberia V2 to MAK
Zalman Fan Controller, OCZ Mem Fan Funguseater


Lots of bad things happen in life all the time. You can't control them, so just be happy!
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old March 14, 2013, 01:06 PM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,211

My System Specs

Default

This is probably a ridiculous suggestion, but check your standoffs to make sure you're not missing any/have extra. Even if you have 1 extra standoff it could cause your short.

Can you remove the short standoffs and replace them with taller ones?

What about installing tall standoffs into the short ones (assuming they're brazed to the board). You would need to use washers when installing your PCI cards if that is the solution...
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old March 14, 2013, 01:41 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Debert/ Glace Bay
Posts: 102

My System Specs

Default

If i use taller standoffs the IO doesnt fit.

And ive got 9 holes, and 9 standoffs, so theres no extra. Its mind boggling how this has devellopped.....

And yeah, everyone has told me to check for extra standoffs, but there are none... I dont want to put the computer back together again until I find out exactly where its shorting because im running out of thermal paste lol
__________________
Bought Items:
GTX 470 from ZeroFlux
Swiftech MCW60 from chubaka

Sold Items:
Steelseries Siberia V2 to MAK
Zalman Fan Controller, OCZ Mem Fan Funguseater


Lots of bad things happen in life all the time. You can't control them, so just be happy!
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old March 14, 2013, 08:15 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Debert/ Glace Bay
Posts: 102

My System Specs

Default

ok, another update,

Ive been testing each component, one by one on the board.... It boots with JUST the cpu, in the case.... it will NOT boot with the grfx card.... So im assuming the I/O pci slots are shorting it somehow.... Going to put some black tape on them and see if that fixes it.... I feel like i dont know what. Jumping hoops haha... will report back if tape solves the problem

EDIT: the comp will not boot with any pci card installed. Sound card, grfx card, they all cause a short.... So its somewhere between the pci i/o and the mobo..... DERPPPP

This could only happen to me lol

electrical tape does not seem to help neither
__________________
Bought Items:
GTX 470 from ZeroFlux
Swiftech MCW60 from chubaka

Sold Items:
Steelseries Siberia V2 to MAK
Zalman Fan Controller, OCZ Mem Fan Funguseater


Lots of bad things happen in life all the time. You can't control them, so just be happy!

Last edited by Trocko; March 14, 2013 at 08:23 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2013, 09:09 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Debert/ Glace Bay
Posts: 102

My System Specs

Default

Working outside the case Mobo working outside case - YouTube
Working with GPU outside the case : Working outside case w/ gpu - YouTube
Working IN the case, no gpu : Working in case, no gpu - YouTube
Works in case, w/gpu (First time its done this in 6 days) Working in case w/ gpu - YouTube
No boot, with watercooling installed. (NOTE: I did not spill any water this time, and there are no leaks, so there is no short caused by water, or the board would turn on any of the other times) Water loop installed, no boot - YouTube

UGH
__________________
Bought Items:
GTX 470 from ZeroFlux
Swiftech MCW60 from chubaka

Sold Items:
Steelseries Siberia V2 to MAK
Zalman Fan Controller, OCZ Mem Fan Funguseater


Lots of bad things happen in life all the time. You can't control them, so just be happy!
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2013, 08:44 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,396

My System Specs

Default

Last time I saw this issue it was a stand off shorting on the back of the board. Try a different case and see if it does the same thing?
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2013, 06:41 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Debert/ Glace Bay
Posts: 102

My System Specs

Default

it runs fine in my shinobi, but wont in my outlaw.... So ive got it running on air, and selling it on air. Ill be parting out my WC loop next week, along with the comp if it doesn't sell.

The only thing i can think of is that the water cooling tubing was pressing down on the mobo, and since the outlaw has such small clearance wit the shorter standoffs, it was just enough to bend the mobo and cause it to contact the mobo tray. Thats all I can think of. because, its running on air, the only thing missing is the watercooling
__________________
Bought Items:
GTX 470 from ZeroFlux
Swiftech MCW60 from chubaka

Sold Items:
Steelseries Siberia V2 to MAK
Zalman Fan Controller, OCZ Mem Fan Funguseater


Lots of bad things happen in life all the time. You can't control them, so just be happy!
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old March 18, 2013, 05:15 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,951
Default

the outlaw case is warped, what happens if have MB mounting screws loose ....just restting on threads
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Accident :( taimoorali007 New Builds 8 December 31, 2011 02:21 AM
Whistler Olympic 2010 Luge Accident/Fatality FiXT Off Topic 64 February 16, 2010 06:33 AM
If You Laugh You're Going to Hell geokilla Off Topic 11 October 23, 2009 10:47 AM
Prepare to laugh..... encorp Off Topic 28 June 15, 2009 01:05 PM
Posting so you can laugh at me. FreqE1 Off Topic 17 November 26, 2008 07:40 AM