Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 2, 2013, 01:43 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 700

My System Specs

Default Computer hesitating to start

Weird,when i started my computer today,i cut after 2 secs.

I pressed start button,2 secs later,cut!Pressed again,1sec later,cut,everything,the fans,etc... looks like there was no power after i pressed it. the 3rd time,it started normally.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 2, 2013, 04:05 AM
IRQ Conflict's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Drayton Valley, AB
Posts: 1,565

My System Specs

Default

Sometimes when I change something in the BIOS, especially overclocking it will take a second or two. Then the fans will start and turn off as thought it isn't going to run. But after a few moments of waiting it will turn everything on and boot.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 2, 2013, 08:00 AM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,079

My System Specs

Default

If your Overclocked it means your not quite stable.

This part of Overclocking to find stability at your desired overclock is tedious and sometimes annoying.

Save your present overclock 3 or 4 times in saved Bios section of Bios. play from there to find stability at at your desired overclock.
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 2, 2013, 08:20 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 700

My System Specs

Default

Lol my CPU is not overclockable,actually i think i know what it is,my start button is quite dead and it was still conducting electricity :D
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 2, 2013, 08:46 AM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,079

My System Specs

Default

Replace the switch MountainMods.com-Power/Reset Switches-Illuminated Anti-Vandal Switch - Blue/Black (Momentary)


Or a new case

check all connections but if its a faulty switch its time to get it out of there,

Don't need one of these
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 2, 2013, 09:38 AM
Nodscene's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 954
Default

Sounds like the typical Gigabyte cold boot issue (I found it would happen on a reboot as well). Wouldn't surprise me at all if the situation got worse over time until it just won't boot anymore. I've had it happen to me and seen it way too often, hence why I refuse to buy their motherboards anymore. If you can try swapping out the mobo to see if the issue persists.
__________________

Create something idiot proof and they will make a better idiot.
_____________________________________

Intel Q6600 - Gigabyte EP35-DS4 - OCZ Reaper 4gig PC2-6400 - XFX 8800GT 512Mb Alpha Dog - AuzenTech X-Fi Prelude - Alesis M1Active MK2 - Corsair HX-620 - Silverstone Temjin TJ05B-X - Scythe Katana 2 - WD Raptor 150Gb - Seagate 7200.11 750Gb x2 - Samsung SH-S203N
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 2, 2013, 10:51 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 700

My System Specs

Default

I wish i could but i don't have a ton of mobos in the garage
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 2, 2013, 12:43 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,079

My System Specs

Default

Where are you located?
see if theirs someone close to you who can help.
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 2, 2013, 03:44 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 700

My System Specs

Default

France,near Montpellier,but i'm not sure it's a cold start,i'll wait a bit more before testing things
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 2, 2013, 04:55 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,079

My System Specs

Default

try this fore testing Desktop Computer Case Power Reset Switch LED Buzzer | eBay
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
hesitating, need fast answer ultimdan Video Cards 16 May 31, 2011 06:23 AM
computer wont start properly kyle_L Troubleshooting 2 January 24, 2011 04:44 PM
Computer turns on, but doesn't start up. Kytael Troubleshooting 16 June 6, 2009 05:40 AM
cant get computer to start Defiant Troubleshooting 5 December 18, 2008 09:58 AM
What does it look like when you start your desk/computer on fire? THIS *PICS* lowfat Off Topic 9 February 11, 2008 03:59 PM