Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2007, 04:48 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,473
Default Memory Allocation Software

Anyone know a piece of software that will let me know how much memory has been given to a device?

Got a 32bit Windows machine with 4gb of memory in it and when I add 1 7600 GT card it will show 3gb of memory, but when I put in another 7600 GT card it shows 2gb of memory.

Curious of how the memory is being allocated.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2007, 04:54 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,220

My System Specs

Default

Task manager/processes should give you what you need.
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2007, 04:58 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,473
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Task manager/processes should give you what you need.
Thats just software, I need hardware.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2007, 05:06 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,220

My System Specs

Default

Everest will give you mem addresses for device higher mem functions and you can do the math if you can figure out hex.... :)

That said, I don't think that hardware uses system mem resources outside of the highmem for device control, & the software used to control it. (I could be wrong of course......).

Is it possible that the himem location of the second card is conflicting with your mem controler?

Have you checked device manager to see if there is a conflict?
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2007, 11:24 PM
grinder's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 819

My System Specs

Default

hrm, this doesn't answer your question.. but to the experts:

would aperture size in the BIOS have anything to do with this?
__________________
Phenom II 945 :: ASUS M4A78-E (780G) :: BFG 285GTX :: 4GB Mushkin DDR2 (5-4-4-12) :: Creative Xi-Fi :: Seagate 500 gig 7200.12 (better than WD BLACK!!!!!) :: Samsung 2493HM
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2007, 11:06 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,220

My System Specs

Default

It might, but certainly not 2 gig worth!!!!
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HTPC Software/Codecs Thunderbirt HTPC Systems & Software 10 January 24, 2008 05:35 PM
Why does the forum software constantly log me out? qwerty Suggestions & Feedback 7 December 1, 2007 01:59 PM
Voltage and PSU monitoring software BALISTX Power Supplies 10 September 5, 2007 05:05 PM
Question regarding software 3.0charlie HardwareCanucks F@H Team 2 June 29, 2007 09:06 AM
Good tax software? Babrbarossa Off Topic 4 February 16, 2007 05:19 AM