Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2013, 02:08 PM
SEGACDX's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Canada BC Langley
Posts: 21

My System Specs

Question Hardware Bottle necks!

So After upgrading my Gpu from a XFX 4890 to a Gigabyte GTX 560 OC.

I was trying out a few games that I couldn't play before like Just Cause 2.

My frame rate was no better then is was a few years back with my Old 4890.

I guess my hardware is getting to old.

MSI k9a2 platinum, AMD Phenom II x4 965 BE @ 3.8Ghz,6GB's DDR2 6400 @ 800Mhz

I think my Mobo and Ram are the two parts holding my whole computer back so I am going to replace them with something newer then a bit later I plain to replace the Cpu.

Here are the parts I've picked out. I'm just asking for some opinions on my old hardware to the newer stuff.

ASUS Crosshair V FORMULA-Z ATX AM3+ 990FX/SB950 DDR3 CrossFireX 3PCI-E16 SATA3 USB3.0 Motherboard

AMD FX-8350 8 Core Processor Socket AM3+ 4.0GHZ 16MB 125W Retail Box

G.SKILL TridentX F3-2400C10D-16GTX 16GB 2X8GB DDR3-2400 CL10 240PIN 1.65V Dual Channel Memory Kit
__________________
Making music sure is hard!
But at the end of the day it's well worth it.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2013, 02:27 PM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,254
Default

The mobo is overkill. For forty bucks less...get the Sabertooth (hell for 220 you can get a GB UD7!!!).
The ram is overkill. For a lot less get DDR 1600 or 1800. No real dif in real world performance...just less voltage and less cost!!
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2013, 02:38 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,225

My System Specs

Default

I'm sure other folks will chime in but I doubt the 965BE is bottlenecking the card any more than one of the new AMD procs. Quite simply they don't offer much gaming improvement over OC'd PHII chips..... OTOH I wouldn't be surprised if the motherboard wasn't and wonder if maybe just a sabertooth 990FX might not improve things a bit.
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2013, 03:47 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,545

My System Specs

Default

With the same budget drop in an i5 3570k.. much better game performance. But as said above, the chip you have now is not bad.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2013, 05:14 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 630

My System Specs

Default

Your processor is transferable to am3+ motherboards. Keep it. Just spend the money on a new mobo and memory.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2013, 06:45 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,603

My System Specs

Default

With that budget z77 motherboard, 3570k, and 2x4gb 1600 mhz ram.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Gigabyte Z77-D3H, i5 3570K with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb 1600mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2013, 10:21 PM
Killswitch's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sault Ste Marie, Ontario
Posts: 839

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SEGACDX View Post
I think my Mobo and Ram are the two parts holding my whole computer back so I am going to replace them with something newer then a bit later I plain to replace the Cpu.
I'm not sure if a new mobo and ram will solve your current issue but if you have a limited budget right now, I say go for it and get the FX-8350 later.

Last edited by Killswitch; February 14, 2013 at 12:26 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Phenom,bottle neck gpu ? in BF3 Jim CPU's and Motherboards 6 November 19, 2011 11:16 AM
Bottle neck? laplapmax CPU's and Motherboards 21 April 26, 2011 12:50 PM
[FS] bottle's FS thread bottle Buy/Sell & Trade 18 January 30, 2010 03:32 PM
Bottle Necks? kendallcschm CPU's and Motherboards 8 January 26, 2010 03:16 PM
can I use an old plastic bottle for a res? Shadowmeph Water Cooling 5 May 3, 2009 06:41 PM