Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2013, 05:56 AM
mailaw's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Pickering, Ontario
Posts: 145
Default CPU 30% to 0% to 70% back to normal 30%.. BLUE SCREEN

I have been experiencing a nice friendly blue screen....

I have a Gigabyte ud3l, with a Q9550, corsair xms ram, antec 500w power supply, and a 7900gs GPU.


When I run the computer it is fine for a while, but as I start using more cpu power, such as 20-30% of the cpu power, it will all of a sudden drop to 0% then spike up to 70% then back to the regular 20-30% for a while, this will repeat a few times over maybe 10min and then blue screen. Most of my apps are just audio and media related, so not gpu intensive at all. I could switch the graphics card out, but it doesn't seem to be the issue.

I have switched drivers of programs, I thought it was driver related initially, monitored heat temps, ran a mem test, cause I did have some bad ram, but no errors.

So I think it might be the board or the cpu? Which would suck, any suggestions? Besides, upgrade the system. Soon... but this system should still have the power in it for what I need to be doing.. It's the complete drop out of cpu activity that bothers me.. not the leap to 70% I get glitches or pauses when it drops to 0% obviously....


Thank you for your help.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2013, 06:56 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 694

My System Specs

Default

Very strange,knowing that CPU death is quite rare,can be the mobo? I think there are more chances that it is the mobo,just check voltages when the CPU starts to **** up,to see if they are normal,and try to switch mobo,if you have another one?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2013, 07:37 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,473
Default

power supply or motherboard.

start with power supply then move to motherboard
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2013, 02:16 PM
ShinraCorp's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 352

My System Specs

Default

Have to agree it could be the 12V CPU cable that's causing the problem, you have a power supply tester you can use?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2013, 03:01 PM
mailaw's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Pickering, Ontario
Posts: 145
Default

I have another PSU I can use, so am going to do that first. And then swap in another mobo if I'm still having issues.
Thanks guys.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2013, 04:07 PM
mailaw's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Pickering, Ontario
Posts: 145
Default

New PSU, no better... blue screened within a minute... sigh... mobo time... so much time... ughhh
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2013, 06:34 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,851
Default

Gigabyte ud3l question ?

what revision of MB for are 4: 1.0, 1.1, 1.2, 1.3 check MB for printed Rev:x.xx

then get current bios for your MB Rev #
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
blue screen:( pcdude O/S's, Drivers & General Software 1 October 13, 2012 08:54 PM
Blue Screen Nikla16 Troubleshooting 6 December 31, 2011 02:57 AM
Blue Screen James Bond 007 Mobile Computing 2 December 29, 2011 06:29 AM
will canada go back to normal? CTA Off Topic 9 October 25, 2008 12:22 PM