Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 6, 2013, 12:36 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2

My System Specs

Default New CPU- Bottleneck?

Hi, my CPU specs are below.

I'm quite new to the world of computer building, and I'm wondering if there is a bottleneck in my system.
I'm running at GTX 670 stock speed with an FX-8120 overclocked to 4.0 GHZ, is there a significant bottleneck in my system?

Thanks so much!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 6, 2013, 02:07 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,842

My System Specs

Default

Not really. Amd CPU generally won't go as high for fps vs intel with current generation parts, but you should be good to go with that setup. What ram speed and quantity do you have?
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 6, 2013, 02:12 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2

My System Specs

Default

I have 1600 channel ram (2x4gb sticks Crucial). It's just i've seen so many higher benchmarks with the same card but different CPUs like intel's sandy bridge. Just worried that by GTX 670 is seriously being bottlenecked by my 8120. I'm reaching 40FPS in BL2 when others have gotten 70 :/
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 6, 2013, 02:44 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,842

My System Specs

Default

40 vs 70 shouldn't make any visual difference as long as you don't have min fps dropping lower. As I mentioned before intel does generally give better fps, but with the in game settings running high to max your cpu shouldn't be an issue.

How are you temps when in game? If they are high then the CPU or gpu could be throttling.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2013, 02:19 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 5
Default

That cpu is absolutely a bottleneck. The benchmarks don't lie. It never makes the games unplayable but the bottleneck isn't exactly subtle if we're to believe the below benchmarks. Mind you, at 19201080, the gpu will still usually be the rate-limiting factor. The bulldozer based cpus are actually a lot slower than the phenom x4s, x6s, and the new Vishera based cards. OCing the cpu doesn't address the bottleneck all that well either.

AMD FX-8120 Gaming Performance | bit-tech.net
http://www.guru3d.com/articles_pages...review,10.html
AMD FX-8120, AMD FX-6100 and AMD FX-4100 CPUs Review. Page 3 - X-bit labs

Also, since minimum fps are usually significantly lower than avg framerates, the difference b/w avg. 40fps and avg. 70 fps will be noticeable.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is my bottleneck? D4ng3r Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 7 November 27, 2011 10:17 AM
Will my PC Bottleneck? H-A-R-M CPU's and Motherboards 4 November 19, 2011 11:15 AM
Could my ram be the bottleneck? andynerd Troubleshooting 10 July 18, 2010 09:00 AM
Bottleneck? mjpd1983 Gaming 7 June 16, 2010 06:56 AM
Will my CPU bottleneck the GTX 260 shaman44 Video Cards 15 March 29, 2010 08:46 PM