Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 27, 2012, 07:23 PM
sakage.shinga's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 215

My System Specs

Default What is bottlenecking my rig?

Hi guys,

My main gaming rig now has a few years under its belt, although it has received a few upgrades since it was first built. However, I have noticed that on some recent games (and I'm not even talking about cutting edge graphics here), the cutscenes & gameplay can suffer some minor framerate drops or slow cursor movement (e.g. mouse cursor in Witcher 2 moves a little slow, not laggy, but just slow). I'm not exactly sure what's bottlenecking my system, so I'd like to get some feedback from the people who have more experience & knowledge than I do.

Processor: i5-750 @ ~2.67GHz (possible bottleneck)
RAM: G. Skill Ripjaws 8GB (probably not here)
Main HDD: WD Caviar Black 2TB (could upgrade to SSD, but with OS + games I'd need around 800GB worth of space)
GPU: Asus Radeon HD 6970 DirectCU II 2GB (maybe running games at 1920x1200 is a bit too much to ask? Not sure).

Right now, upgrading HDD & GPU seem more doable than getting a new CPU, which I might do when I build a new rig in a year or so. But as it stands, would switching to a nVidia GPU help me out at all? I'm thinking about a GTX 660 or 670. However, if the GPU isn't what's bottlenecking my rig, than I might just wait a build a new rig altogether in about a year.

Thanks!!!
__________________
Photography/Gaming build: i7-4770K, NH-D14, Z87 Sabertooth, 16GB Ripjaws X, GTX 780 OC DirectCU II 3GB, M500 480GB, Caviar Black 2TB, Dual Red 4TBx2 (RAID 1), XFX Pro 850W 80+ Gold, Graphite Series 600T SE White
HTPC build: i5-750, Hyper 212+, P7P55D Pro, 8GB Ripjaws X, R6970 DirectCU II 2GB, Caviar Black 640GB/2TB, Caviar Green 3TB, Seagate Barracuda 3TB, Strider Plus 750W, CM 690 II Advanced
Mobile Media: Asus Transformer Infinity 32GB w/ keyboard dock
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 27, 2012, 08:59 PM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

1st thing you should do right off the bat would be to overclock your cpu. You should be able to do 4.0 Ghz fairly easily wih that chip. Then the next best thing in my opinion would be to get an ssd. You can still install your games on the hard drive and store files there. Make sure you have the latest video card drivers as well.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 27, 2012, 09:14 PM
sakage.shinga's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 215

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for the reply! But if I keep game installs on the old hard drive but moved OS onto an SSD, would I still get a boost in gaming performance?
__________________
Photography/Gaming build: i7-4770K, NH-D14, Z87 Sabertooth, 16GB Ripjaws X, GTX 780 OC DirectCU II 3GB, M500 480GB, Caviar Black 2TB, Dual Red 4TBx2 (RAID 1), XFX Pro 850W 80+ Gold, Graphite Series 600T SE White
HTPC build: i5-750, Hyper 212+, P7P55D Pro, 8GB Ripjaws X, R6970 DirectCU II 2GB, Caviar Black 640GB/2TB, Caviar Green 3TB, Seagate Barracuda 3TB, Strider Plus 750W, CM 690 II Advanced
Mobile Media: Asus Transformer Infinity 32GB w/ keyboard dock
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 27, 2012, 09:19 PM
IRQ Conflict's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Drayton Valley, AB
Posts: 1,572

My System Specs

Default

Try playing with mouse acceleration? What settings in the witcher are you using? Latest drivers from AMD? Try reinstalling the GPU drivers after removing them with Control Panel. Programs and Features. Then boot into safe mode, use Driver Sweeper to clean up any remnants. Boot back into normal windows and install new Catalyst.

And yes, that OC is rather weak. Try to shoot for 3.0-3.4Ghz at least.

Edit: Is the game on a 7500 RPM drive? If so, it should be fine. An SSD will help with load times but you are not swapping much if any with 8 GB's of system ram.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 27, 2012, 09:32 PM
sakage.shinga's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 215

My System Specs

Default

Hmm my normal driver update procedure ise this :
1)Uninstall using AMD's installer package.
2)reboot
3)clean registry with tuneup utilities.
4)install new driver.

I will try it your way. Thanks!
__________________
Photography/Gaming build: i7-4770K, NH-D14, Z87 Sabertooth, 16GB Ripjaws X, GTX 780 OC DirectCU II 3GB, M500 480GB, Caviar Black 2TB, Dual Red 4TBx2 (RAID 1), XFX Pro 850W 80+ Gold, Graphite Series 600T SE White
HTPC build: i5-750, Hyper 212+, P7P55D Pro, 8GB Ripjaws X, R6970 DirectCU II 2GB, Caviar Black 640GB/2TB, Caviar Green 3TB, Seagate Barracuda 3TB, Strider Plus 750W, CM 690 II Advanced
Mobile Media: Asus Transformer Infinity 32GB w/ keyboard dock
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 27, 2012, 09:37 PM
IRQ Conflict's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Drayton Valley, AB
Posts: 1,572

My System Specs

Default

For your convenience.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 27, 2012, 11:12 PM
sakage.shinga's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 215

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IRQ Conflict View Post
Thanks!
__________________
Photography/Gaming build: i7-4770K, NH-D14, Z87 Sabertooth, 16GB Ripjaws X, GTX 780 OC DirectCU II 3GB, M500 480GB, Caviar Black 2TB, Dual Red 4TBx2 (RAID 1), XFX Pro 850W 80+ Gold, Graphite Series 600T SE White
HTPC build: i5-750, Hyper 212+, P7P55D Pro, 8GB Ripjaws X, R6970 DirectCU II 2GB, Caviar Black 640GB/2TB, Caviar Green 3TB, Seagate Barracuda 3TB, Strider Plus 750W, CM 690 II Advanced
Mobile Media: Asus Transformer Infinity 32GB w/ keyboard dock
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 28, 2012, 12:05 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 445

My System Specs

Default

6970 while a bit power hungry compared to current offerings is still a very good card provided you use the best drivers for it, I believe most used 12.4 12.6 and 12.8 for performance reasons, and 1920x1200 is perfect for it, not asking tons out of it, just using it efficently and also allowing the cpu to do its part in the process :)
for cpu overclocking usually 3.0Ghz 3.6Ghz and 4.0Ghz are your main sweet spots to gain the most performance and reduce bottlenecks.

Your cpu is dual channel vs the higher end X58 based that were tri-channel, so yes there could be a bneck here, but a very slight one at best and overclocking should help to mitigate this as well.
Having an SSD as an OS drive and the 2tb as a game drive is a very good thing, and should help overall performance, make tasks and background a little snappier, could help the game overall as well during load times and such, just make sure paging files are set per drive and large enough according to the size of installed ram. It may not give you a frame rate boost, but it does help overall smoothness in most everything(I have found)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
965 bottlenecking in BF3? great_big_abyss CPU's and Motherboards 12 February 11, 2012 09:52 AM
question about bottlenecking neo678123 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 3 January 17, 2012 05:33 AM
Bottlenecking JJThomp Video Cards 6 February 8, 2011 12:01 AM
BottleNecking? Chromey Video Cards 10 April 6, 2009 06:36 PM
What do you suppose is bottlenecking this PC? LookAQuesadilla Troubleshooting 14 April 30, 2007 10:16 AM