Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 25, 2012, 01:54 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 709
Default Asus Rampage Extreme VGA BIOS error

My friend have an Asus Rampage Extreme (775 socket) and it started to get "VGA BIOS" error on the LCD Poster. He is running an Sappire 4870x2. I started by swapping it with an AMD 5450 or something similar single slot GPU that doesn't need additional power. The problem went away and then I reinstall the old 4870x2 with a new Antec 520W and the problem came back. Am I looking at a dead GPU or is it not sitting properly? Also, he's old Zelman PSU seem a bit broken because when I turn off the PSU switch, there's still power going to the motherboard as all the onboard LEDs are still on.

EDIT: When I manage to boot into Windows, there were a lot of GPU related errors in Event Logs and he complained about BSOD as well.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 25, 2012, 02:56 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,037

My System Specs

Default

look fore dust in the gpu blow out with compressed air. take shroud off and blow fan and heat sink.
heating issues ??
need a 650 W or more that GPU also good one if he has the cash.
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 25, 2012, 03:54 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,922
Default

take down bios settings then reset it by remove wall outlet cord then hit start button then reset cmos

yes it mite be pci-e power issues
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 26, 2012, 05:54 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 709
Default

Well I fixed it. I read on another link that it could be not sitting in the slot properly. Since I had to force the card up a bit to align it with the case screw holds, I suspected it may be out alignment despite it's all the way into the slot. I unscrewed it and it booted right the way. Unfortunately, I removed it since I couldn't trust that Zelman PSU as it would pass power the motherboard even with the back power switch set to off.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASUS X79 ROG Rampage IV Extreme EmptyMellon Reviews & Articles from the Web 26 December 2, 2011 05:37 AM
What RAM for Asus Rampage II Extreme? Jim Johnstone RAM 0 November 11, 2010 12:15 PM
ASUS p6x58D Premium versus Asus Rampage Extreme III Timid newbe New Builds 2 August 17, 2010 01:09 PM
ASUS Launches the Rampage III Extreme and Maximus III Extreme Motherboards FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 4 April 16, 2010 05:40 AM
ASUS Rampage Extreme or ASUS Maximus II Formula AmuseMe CPU's and Motherboards 3 July 20, 2009 09:46 AM