Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 19, 2012, 11:43 PM
Birk's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Lethbridge, AB
Posts: 606

My System Specs

Default New RAID 1, Major Windows issues

Hi guys, Trying to setup these 2 new systems. Working on #1 and here is whats going on.

System will contain:

1 - 128gb SSD - Bood Drive

2 - 2TB HDD - RAID1


Here is what I've done. Keep in mind I've never worked with an SSD before nor have I ever done any work wtih RAID Arrays.

*Installed SSD
*Installed Windows 7 Pro
*Installed other Programs.

*Installed both 2TB hard drives.
*Enabled RAID in Bios and ran the RAID configure program.
*Setup both Hard Drives into the RAID and left the SSD out.
*Windows will no longer boot. It goes to the flash screen then reboots computer.
*Can't reinstall windows 7 from the DVD as it says there is no Driver support for the DVD drive that its reading from.


I can provide more information if its needed. Any help would be greatly appreciated as one of these is a christmas gift!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 20, 2012, 12:04 AM
BlueByte's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Maynooth
Posts: 540
Default

It is because you changed the controller and didn't update the driver for the SATA/RAID controller within your OS.

How to: Change SATA Modes After Windows 7 Installation actually does a good job of explaining....

You will have to boot back into windows under AHCI vs RAID to do this. Not that big of a deal.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 20, 2012, 02:37 PM
Birk's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Lethbridge, AB
Posts: 606

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for the info, it didnt work unfortunatly.

Heres where I'm sitting now.
Formatted the SSD so im starting from scratch. I have a total of 4 Sata devices.

DVD Drive
SSD
HDD
HDD

When I load the bios in default settings it finds all 4 of them although it says that the 2 HDDS are Master and Slave.

As soon as I set RAID and restart it no longer sees the 2 HDDS in the bios. BUT it ONLY sees the 2 HDDS in the CTRL+F Raid utility....

I'm not at the PC right now but is there anything obvious im doing wrong here?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 20, 2012, 02:55 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,598
Default

Build the RAID array on the Intel ports and stick the SSD/DVD on the Marvell ports and enable the Marvell ports if not already done.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Major Headphone issues need help! Lavitz Audio 4 November 29, 2010 05:03 PM
Windows authentification issues Behemoth- O/S's, Drivers & General Software 0 June 25, 2010 06:48 PM
major issues cmac79 Troubleshooting 5 April 6, 2010 08:53 PM
Major Issues With 5870 ! JORD4N Video Cards 26 December 12, 2009 06:43 AM
Major Windows 7 upgrade annoyance dadzilla O/S's, Drivers & General Software 20 November 9, 2009 06:26 PM