Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 22, 2008, 05:18 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fredericton New Brunswick
Posts: 26
Question x2 6400+ amd tooooo hot!

I just built a new rig,i'm super stoked on it too.My first diy rig from scratch and everything has gone well so far minus a corrupt hd.Anywho I built a m2n-sli deluxe bios 1302 with a 550 psu ultra,2 gigs ddr2 800 fsb xms corsair(was to cheap to pass up =) ),x2 6400+ with stock hsf,and the gpu is a 8800gt evga 512.Oh and I'm using a 250 gig hd master and a 60 gig slave,sony dvdr,in a wingrs 101 case.Only problem I'm having now is my gd processor is running hot and I mean like idel 45-52 and 65-70 load.This must be too hot it has to be.What I've done to cool the rig more is I have a 120 mil exhaust back 120 mil intake in front and 2 , 80 mil fans intake on side and removed the cpu tunnel.I also reseated and used some ocz freeze heatpaste/thermalgrease twice =p.Just asking for opinions on the best hsf for it or a fix that users have came across. BTW i'm not ocing a thing.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 22, 2008, 05:21 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fredericton New Brunswick
Posts: 26
Default wow!

bumping with my sig!
__________________
Rig: Asus M2n SLI deluxe, AMD X2 6400+, Geforce 8800 GT 512 Mb, 2 Gb ddr2 800 fsb xms corsair, Ultra 550 sli supported,Old Rig:PCchips P25g,Intel Celeron 3.04 ghz,Geforce 7600GS 512,2 Gb dd1,500 watt PSU
Yes I did upgrade , Yes I did notice a change =)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 22, 2008, 05:24 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,999

My System Specs

Default

The thing is, the 6400+ is basically an overclocked 6000+... which is an overclocked 5600+ I believe (same architecture). So these processors naturally run hotter and therefore need aftermarket cooling. If you're looking for a cheap solution then go for the Arctic Colling Freezer 64 (or Pwm version) that are super cheap and work Extremely well for the price. Beyond that, I'd recommend a Thermalright Ultra 120/Extreme or one of the Scythe Ninjas (preferably the all copper one) paired with a 120mm fan with decent static pressure. Hope it helps!
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 22, 2008, 07:10 PM
magictorch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley, NS
Posts: 1,836
Default

you might want to try the usual suspects as well-Mx-2 paste, proper paste application too-but yea you need a good heat- sink.
__________________
White Night:: i7920 (4ghz), Rampage III extreme (A1), Mushkin XP 1600 (9,9,9,24),SLI480., white MM horizon.
CPU: Feser 220 int.|Apogee GTZ|S.Res.rev2| MCP655.

GPU: PA120.3|S.Res.rev2|2x EK FC blocks| MCP655.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 22, 2008, 10:48 PM
burebista's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Romania
Posts: 598

My System Specs

Default

X2 6400+ is an electric stove. TDP 125W.
You can try to undervolt it with RMClock. You have here a guide. Basically you should find minimum stable VID for your stock frequency (test stability with Orthos or OCCT). For example for my X2 3800+ is VID 0.900V at 800 MHz and VID 1.125V for 2GHz.
Lower voltage means less heat.
Also you can try underclock in idle/medium load (surfing net, watching movies, listen music, office stuff, you don't need 3.2GHz for those).
Then if you don't seen results with underclock/undervolt then you should change your cooler. Freezer Pro is cheap and decent, then Scythe Ninja/Mugen/Zipang or Tuniq Tower, Xigmatek HDT-S1283, Zerotherm Nirvana, Noctua NH-U12P or in top of those Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 23, 2008, 10:04 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fredericton New Brunswick
Posts: 26
Default

what about a zalman or ruby orb?
__________________
Rig: Asus M2n SLI deluxe, AMD X2 6400+, Geforce 8800 GT 512 Mb, 2 Gb ddr2 800 fsb xms corsair, Ultra 550 sli supported,Old Rig:PCchips P25g,Intel Celeron 3.04 ghz,Geforce 7600GS 512,2 Gb dd1,500 watt PSU
Yes I did upgrade , Yes I did notice a change =)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 23, 2008, 11:09 AM
burebista's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Romania
Posts: 598

My System Specs

Default

IMO Zalman are overrated/overpriced and TT...let's say that I'm not a fan of this brand.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 23, 2008, 02:52 PM
ebdoradz's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rouyn-Noranda, QC
Posts: 754
Default

i have an arctic-cooling freezer 64 pro and for 18$ you cant go wrong... its keeping my opteron 165 @ 2.8Ghz from stock 1.8 to 30C idle and 42C under load

also i could recomment a Scynthe Ninja aluminium, Para_Frank a user her eis using one, i have his rig right beside me and after overclocking his 5600+ to 3.25Ghz its idling @ 28C and it never pass the 40C barrier under load

you absolutly dont need to pay for a Zalman, usulay those perform the same has the both hsf i recommended above and costr 2-3 times more. Thermaltake also offer a couple of good HSF but i dont like their mounting system specialy the one that bolt throught the motherboard.

a god choice would be a Arctici-copoling 64 pro or pwm or a scynthe ninja..

hope this help
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P / AMD Phenom II x3 720BE @ x4/ Crucial Ballistic DDR3 / Sapphire 4830 512mb / Corsair 620W PSU / 2*80GB Seagate

DFI LP nF4 Ultra-D / AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.7Ghz/ 2*1GB OCZ Gold GX XTC / Sapphire X1950XT / Fortron 450W PSU / 2*Maxtor 80Gb


Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 15, 2008, 08:37 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fredericton New Brunswick
Posts: 26
Lightbulb well my fix has worked for now

Basically I think I've nipped the problem. I bought 3 80 mil fans cause it was cheaper than 2, and I've put one fan blowing directly to the left of the processor a hair.(the tunnel didn't line up when i installed cpu which is a common problem i've heard) So the tunnel was taken out and fan is in blowing air towards processor and it has saved my temps by about 2 or 3 degrees celcius. Which is all I needed I believe, I also placed a fan lower on the side of the case as exhaust. I was told to use both as exhaust but my temps actually increased. I also repasted the hsf stock. With the OCZ Freeze Extreme Thermal Compound Review
Now i'm staring to wonder what I can do to guarantee safer temps =p
__________________
Rig: Asus M2n SLI deluxe, AMD X2 6400+, Geforce 8800 GT 512 Mb, 2 Gb ddr2 800 fsb xms corsair, Ultra 550 sli supported,Old Rig:PCchips P25g,Intel Celeron 3.04 ghz,Geforce 7600GS 512,2 Gb dd1,500 watt PSU
Yes I did upgrade , Yes I did notice a change =)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 16, 2008, 10:18 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 115
Default

Well if you do decide to buy an HSF...I'd go with one of the new H.D.T coolers such as: Kingwin RVT-12095, Sunbeam Core Contact, Xigmatek HDT-S1283, and OCZ Vendetta 2.

Non-HDT coolers to consider: TRUE, TT120, Noctua NH-U12P, Scythe Mugen, Ninja Copper.

Also, I recommend not using the push-pins with the Ninja or any other heavy cooler.

Zalman stuff...while it has the capabilities...it is generally overpriced.
__________________
Antec NSK 6500 w/ TriCool intake, S-Flex F exhaust
Corsair HX520
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 Rev1.0 @ 500FSB
Intel C2D E6300 @ 3.5ghz 1.45V
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro

Mushkin (996576) 2X1GB HP2-6400 @ 1000mhz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
eVGA 7600GT KO @ 630/880
Seagate 7200.10 320GB

Samsung SH-162

Samsung 205BW

Logitech Media Keyboard
Logitech MX518

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes