Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2012, 04:36 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 63

My System Specs

Default game crash( kind of )

So what happens is im playing and without a warning screen turns black and it pops up at the desktop. The game still goes on, i still have audio but i dont have any video. I think its my video card its a gtx 670 i got a month ago. This happens every few days all on the same game but its not the most intensive(wargame:european escalation). I did do some overclocking is this behavior symtoms of lack of voltage?

Another issue i have is in some games like planetside 2 it will freeze for a second or two come back and i will be getting 20 fps when i normally get 60 and doesnt fix itself until i restart the game.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 7, 2013, 06:06 PM
BradM's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Peterborough Ontario
Posts: 34

My System Specs

Default

Overclocking could be a major issue as it is almost pointless to overclock a graphics card because in the end you will only get a couple more fps's, if you can restore the graphics cards setting back to default like the overclock settings. Overclocking a GPU isn't like overclocking a CPU as a CPU is easier to make stable and GPU's are very hard to make stable so try to restore the overclock setting and the 670 is alreadys a best card why overclock it.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 7, 2013, 06:35 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,604
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BradM View Post
Overclocking could be a major issue as it is almost pointless to overclock a graphics card because in the end you will only get a couple more fps's, if you can restore the graphics cards setting back to default like the overclock settings. Overclocking a GPU isn't like overclocking a CPU as a CPU is easier to make stable and GPU's are very hard to make stable so try to restore the overclock setting and the 670 is alreadys a best card why overclock it.
Overclocking a GPU is far from pointless. Overclocking a card can make it run faster and sustain a more stable FPS.

My GTX 560ti can be overclocked to run as good as a GTX 570 for half the cost.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2013, 01:15 AM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,778

My System Specs

Default

I'm having this same issue in 2 of my games, it's the graphics driver crashing.. minimize the game for about 5 seconds or so and then go back in,
Really annoying and I'd love to get to the root of it myself, I think I'll be doing a fresh install and see how it goes.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2013, 10:07 AM
sf101's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 305
Default

actually ocing my 7970 gave me massive gains in fps and minimum fps esp.

if its not getting enough voltage you will have driver crashes ect.
__________________
My 5 Current Rigs-Guest-Main-Work/Spare-HTPC-Laptop
I7930@4.0GHz-Guest
3770K@ 4.8GHz -Main
2500k @ 4.7GHz -work/Spare
3570K @ 4.5 -HTPC
MSI GT70-2OC/770m-998/4800MHz -Laptop
SF101 HW BOT
GPU's ("xfire"2x XFX290X@1150/1500"EKWB"|GIGAOC7970WF3@1250/1850|Asus480GTX@900/2000|
2xEvga260Core216's SLI in HTPC-Retired gpu's 9600ati|9800proATI|8800GTS"320mb&640mb"
|8800GTX|9800GT|9800GX2
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2013, 12:36 PM
Bloodystumps's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Uxbridge
Posts: 229

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dzzope View Post
I'm having this same issue in 2 of my games, it's the graphics driver crashing.. minimize the game for about 5 seconds or so and then go back in,
Really annoying and I'd love to get to the root of it myself, I think I'll be doing a fresh install and see how it goes.

that is interesting I have 6950's in crossfire and I get that in Cod4 but with a small window that pops for a split second and desktops then back in to game like nothing happened all taking a fraction of a second , I've yet to investigate it because I don't have the time yet.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OUYA: A New Kind of Video Game Console headsh0t Gaming 21 June 25, 2013 04:14 AM
What kind of PSU + HDD + SDD should I get? r2yneth New Builds 15 December 3, 2011 11:41 PM
Game of Thrones Genesis aka a Video Game Arinoth Gaming 9 September 24, 2011 07:11 AM
Random crash in game :( WolfBane Troubleshooting 11 June 10, 2009 02:45 PM
What kind of PPD should I be getting? Daygard HardwareCanucks F@H Team 2 April 29, 2009 07:06 PM