Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 19, 2012, 06:29 AM
hossdaddy's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 127
Default odd problem with new build HELP!

Hey guys I helped a friend spec out the following build last week;

AMD FX-4100 Zambezi 3.6GHz (stock oem cooler)
MSI 970A-G46 AM3+ AMD 970 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX
Mushkin Enhanced Blackline 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600
EVGA 01G-P4-3650-KR GeForce GTX 650 Ti 1GB
Western Digital WD Blue WD5000AAKX 500GB 7200 RPM SATA 6.0Gb/s
LITE-ON DVD Burner - Bulk Black SATA
Antec NEO 520w psu

He is running win7 64-bit all updated.

He was having random shutoffs after 15-30 mins of gaming. I asked him if he has the cpu cooler hooked up correctly he said yes. He left the side off his case and put a big fan blowing on it and was able to play for 2-3 hours without issue. So, to me it looks like a cpu over heat. He assured me he removed the plastic from the cooler. I said what about the locking collar? He wasn't sure because its his first amd build.

Thoughts?

TIA!
__________________
Main System:
i5 3570k @ 4.6ghz | GA-Z77X-UD3H | Gigabyte GTX 670 | 8gb Redline 1600mhz | CM 690 | Logitech G9x | Mushkin Cronos 120gb ssd | Benq 24" | CM Hyper 212+ | Seasonic 750w | X-Fi Titanium | Sennheiser 350 | Razer blackwidow | Win 7 64-bit
Backup System:
AMD X2 7750 BE @ 3.0G | Asus M3A78-CM | 2x2gig 800mhz 4-4-4-12 | SB LIVE | Samsung 22" | Asus 9800gt | Antec NEO 620w | Logitech G5 | ThermalTake Matrix | Arctic Cooling Freezer 64
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 19, 2012, 06:37 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,227

My System Specs

Default

What kind of case is it? Maybe he doesn't have any airflow at all? If the CPU cooler wasn't doing it's job I doubt you'd get 15 minutes of gaming out of it.
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 19, 2012, 07:15 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 694

My System Specs

Default

What about thermal paste? did he apply some? or too much?

What about the temperatures? :)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 19, 2012, 07:57 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,190

My System Specs

Default

Has he applied any sort of overclock while still using the stock cooler?
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 19, 2012, 08:38 AM
odis172's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 682

My System Specs

Default

Make sure he has case fans, most likely improper cpu heatsink installation.
Get him to run hwmonitor while sitting at the desktop in windows.. that will probably show way too high temps at idle.
__________________
Laptop: Lenovo T420 - Core i5 2520 - 8GB DDR3
Server: 2 xeon E5530 - Asus Z8N-D6 - 12GB DDR3 - 8x 500GB raid 50 - Perc 6/i - Compucase RA448A00
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 19, 2012, 09:19 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: 44N by 79W
Posts: 358
Default

Could be the GPU as well, if its running real hot could cause the same problem and a fan on the card would help it out.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 19, 2012, 09:23 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,282

My System Specs

Default

need to know the temperatures, also check the log files then do ram tests
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 19, 2012, 02:19 PM
hossdaddy's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 127
Default

wow thanks for the replies guys!
1 - its an older case no idea the make.
2 - he is using stock cooler which has thermal paste on it.
3 - hes running stock speeds

I will have him install hw monitor
and report back.

Cheers!

tia!
__________________
Main System:
i5 3570k @ 4.6ghz | GA-Z77X-UD3H | Gigabyte GTX 670 | 8gb Redline 1600mhz | CM 690 | Logitech G9x | Mushkin Cronos 120gb ssd | Benq 24" | CM Hyper 212+ | Seasonic 750w | X-Fi Titanium | Sennheiser 350 | Razer blackwidow | Win 7 64-bit
Backup System:
AMD X2 7750 BE @ 3.0G | Asus M3A78-CM | 2x2gig 800mhz 4-4-4-12 | SB LIVE | Samsung 22" | Asus 9800gt | Antec NEO 620w | Logitech G5 | ThermalTake Matrix | Arctic Cooling Freezer 64
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 19, 2012, 02:27 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,853
Default

yes poor air flow in case

would help if had a pic of the set-up.....cover on and off with a rear case shot also
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
problem with new build yycraven Troubleshooting 5 July 19, 2011 10:05 AM
problem with my new build crudohgod Troubleshooting 4 June 29, 2009 01:20 PM
New build problem ...! ADay2Long Troubleshooting 11 June 11, 2009 08:17 PM
New Build - Problem LegendofJubei Troubleshooting 1 August 27, 2008 01:08 AM
Memory problem with new build francois methot CPU's and Motherboards 10 July 23, 2007 09:50 AM