Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2012, 09:19 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 700

My System Specs

Default

Try to stress the PSU with OCCT maybe..

That will stress the video card + the CPU +the RAM,max power!!!!if it crashes,it's because your PSU is damaged maybe?

OCCT here: Home
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2012, 10:47 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,386

My System Specs

Default

I have a little more testing to do but I may have discovered the problem. It could be the mobo trying to protect itself and shutting down or the system crashing because of hard drive failure (storage drives.) I had a custom cable made for me a while back so i could run multiple drives (4) off one power connector.
When i tested the modded cable the 3.3v completely failed on the power tester. I'm going to do a few more tests to confirm... hopefully the data is ok.
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2012, 11:11 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,921

My System Specs

Default

Let us know. Could be a bad cable/connection in the modded section


Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
This is honestly the best method. Power supply testers do an ok job measuring voltages and rest and can give you a general idea but they are never 100% accurate.
Agreed, but if your not comfortable doing this a psu tester would be the next step.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mouse not working after comeing out of sleep mode elmorejohn46 Troubleshooting 7 June 27, 2012 01:25 PM
PC stuck in sleep mode! Dx10fly Troubleshooting 4 March 20, 2011 05:20 AM
Windows 7 Sleep mode switch33 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 4 January 8, 2010 01:31 PM
PC wont work after sleep mode? SadisticMonkey O/S's, Drivers & General Software 21 October 16, 2009 01:12 PM
What happens ifyou kill power in sleep mode? SadisticMonkey O/S's, Drivers & General Software 4 October 16, 2009 11:53 AM