Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 3, 2012, 09:53 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Calgary
Posts: 973
Default Format old IDE drive with OS on it?

I can't format it in windows since there is an OS on it and none of my other motherboards have IDE ports on them.

What can I do?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 3, 2012, 10:00 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,408

My System Specs

Default

What are you asking? if you are trying to format a hard drive you cannot formate a harddrive with a OS that you are currently using . there are a couple of ways to do this one is to use a Linux live cd and boot into that then format the hard drive or if you have say a Windows OS disk boot into that then go through the procedure like you are going to install the OS but just format the rive and when the drive is formated then just cancel the OS install and exit.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 3, 2012, 10:04 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Calgary
Posts: 973
Default

This computer is old as hell and not sure if it even works. Im talking like single core ddr memory. My friend just wants the drive wiped. (don't ask)

Maybe an IDE to Sata converter or something could work so I connect it to another mobo?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 3, 2012, 10:10 AM
BeaverBender's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Montreal
Posts: 260

My System Specs

Default

Use this:

nGear USB2.0 to SATA/IDE Drive Adapter 2.5/3.5/5.25IN Drives w/ Power Adapter
__________________
Creationists make it sound like a ‘theory’ is something you dreamt up after being drunk all night — Isaac Asimov
All thinking men are atheists — Ernest Hemingway
Faith means not wanting to know what is true — Friedrich Nietzsche


Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 3, 2012, 10:19 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,732

My System Specs

Default

Along with dban and you're golden. Or, If he just wants to ensure the data can't be accessed, and doesn't intend to use the drive again, an electric drill through the HDD case near the spindle is fairly effective as well. :)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 3, 2012, 10:55 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,408

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Along with dban and you're golden. Or, If he just wants to ensure the data can't be accessed, and doesn't intend to use the drive again, an electric drill through the HDD case near the spindle is fairly effective as well. :)
I never heard of that one I am going to have to check it out
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 3, 2012, 11:04 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,732

My System Specs

Default

IIRC using a drill was standard practice as the final step on secure HDDs that the military was decommisioning after they'd run the military standard wipes. Unless you're talking about state secrets, or something you absolutely cannot have the government getting their hands on, anything that physically damages the platter is going to put retrieval of the information on the platter well beyond any method that would be economically feasable to hackers/fraudsters.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 3, 2012, 11:19 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Calgary
Posts: 973
Default

He wants to keep the drive for some reason...

What is dban?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 3, 2012, 11:20 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,658
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BobbyLou View Post
He wants to keep the drive for some reason...

What is dban?
Darins Nuke works well too altho VERY not needed.

Just do a normal format and call it a day.. His pron collection will be gone
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 3, 2012, 06:52 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,227

My System Specs

Default

DBAN (Darik's Boot and Nuke) is available on the UBCD under "Drive Wiping":
Ultimate Boot CD - Overview (assuming you have an optical drive and blank CD)

I wiped two IDE drives the other day with it.
__________________
"The computer programmer says they should drive the car around the block and see if the tire fixes itself." [src]
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] DELETE PLEASE wedge22 Buy/Sell & Trade 10 April 13, 2012 11:17 AM
[WTB] Please Delete r3v07ut10n Buy/Sell & Trade 5 February 5, 2012 01:19 PM
[WTB] delete loath Buy/Sell & Trade 3 July 1, 2011 11:41 AM
[FS] please delete quikgp Buy/Sell & Trade 0 May 20, 2011 03:12 PM
[FS] delete kyle_L Buy/Sell & Trade 0 May 4, 2011 04:13 PM