Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2012, 04:23 AM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,535

My System Specs

Default

WPA2 is virtually uncrackable unless you have the resources and computing power.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2012, 04:23 AM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,396

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaydu View Post
Obviously if some one is determined to get in they can but that's why you layer your defense against it. wpa2 is just as useless as well if someone is determined. the truth is wifi is not secure. this is why I do not use it. But the more you layer your stuff the more annoying you are so hopefully they move on to an easier target.
Yep. Disabling SSID and enabling MAC filtering (and checking the MAC address logs if available to block raymond-pc's MAC) all will discourage, but not prevent a determined hacker.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2012, 09:26 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,280

My System Specs

Default

what I do is both mac filtering and also set it so only 2 wirless devices can connect to my network also I change my wireless encrypted code and my routers password. it is totally impossible to have a un hackable network but the more security you have the less likely someone will go through the hasle of hacking it.
I have met people ( online) that bruteforce and other hacks just so they can get free internet I have always wanted to set up wghat I think is acalled a honeypot just to catch people that are trying to hack into my network. but I don't have the know how to do this. i9n my building where I live there is at least 6 wireless networks and two of which I accidentally connected to with my laptop. I had shut down my router and PC I was looking at some instructions on my laptop ( PDF file) when I noticed that it was connected to the net I checked it out and was connected to someone elses network lol.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2012, 10:20 AM
NyteOwl's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 905
Default

Or don't use WiFi (especially in an apartment building).
__________________
Obsolescence is just a lack of imagination.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2012, 10:27 AM
Skyllz's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 739

My System Specs

Default

I would start by changing the SSID to "Raymond-PC's Porn Collection" and take it from there.
__________________
Is smoke supposed to come out of there?
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2012, 10:36 AM
rfglass's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Port Elgin Grey/Bruce
Posts: 157

My System Specs

Default

Check out Gibson Research (grc.com) this is a good read:
https://www.grc.com/haystack.htm
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2012, 01:20 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: East Van
Posts: 50

My System Specs

Default

The reported MAC address of the device starts with 08:10:75. A little googling suggests this is a rtl8192ce wifi chipset, commonly found on both USB wifi adapters and laptops. Since a bridging AP creates a single layer-2 network that passes MAC addresses both ways, I think that's confirmation that the unknown host is visible by wifi and not LAN. You could check the ARP table of MAC addresses on your wifi AP router to confirm for sure which interface he's arriving on.

A MAC address filter will block the guy, but it's very easy for him to just hop to a different MAC address. You could use a MAC whitelist, but then he just clones the MAC of one of your own devices. As others have said, the only real way to secure this is to keep him off your wifi in the first place.

802.11x EAP is a huge hassle to set up. Use WPA2 if you're not already, and rotate to a new (and long) PSK. Get in the habit of changing the PSK every day for a little while and he'll probably move on to a less challenging victim.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2012, 02:19 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 559
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NyteOwl View Post
Or don't use WiFi (especially in an apartment building).
what is your preferred method of connecting an iPhone then?
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2012, 05:34 PM
BlueByte's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Maynooth
Posts: 515

My System Specs

Default

If you want secure the method i would use is seperate your wifi ap from your network and setup a pptp vpn to connect to your network. Its not 100% but less anoying for friends to get google at your place. I used to be anal with mac addresses etc but honesty not worth it in the end for the head aches it causes.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2012, 05:57 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,225

My System Specs

Default

Nah, just keep an old router powered on with WEP wireless "protection", but conveniently neglect to connect it to a network.......... :)
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Only some computer can connect to my home network JoshOohAh Networking 14 February 19, 2012 06:13 AM
WHS server unknown high temp, network issue Prolab Troubleshooting 7 March 12, 2011 11:25 AM
login other computer on network CTA O/S's, Drivers & General Software 6 March 10, 2011 10:54 AM
Unable to ping computer on the network Kilauea Gaming 2 February 21, 2010 06:07 PM
anybody know how to share a computer on a network? jak3_dude Guides & How-to's 2 December 9, 2008 02:22 PM