Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2012, 07:30 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Lindsay, ON
Posts: 43

My System Specs

Default New rig, 2 large problems (MemOK! and Corsair H40 noise)

Hello,

So I just got my new rig, and put it together. I am having a two problems that have me looking for help. I have built 2 other computers in the past but normally there was myself and another person, so this is my first solo effort.

There is a youtube link of my computer and a parts list at the end of this post.

The first is problem is that when i power up the system, I get a red light on MemOK, and there is nothing else that happens except for the fans all go on full blast after a few seconds. I have reseated the ram, i have tried only using 1 stick (each desperately to test if 1 stick was bad) and tried all 4 slots. No success. I have made sure that all the power connectors are pushed all the way in.

The second problem is the Corsair H40 cooling system I installed is making a huge racket. I have read on some forums that it is because it is forcing air through the system. Two solutions I read were to uninstall it and give it a shake, and the other was to RMA it.

This is a youtube link of what it looks and sounds like.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9ko_...A&feature=plcp

AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition
G.SKILL Ripjaws X F3-12800CL9D-8GBXL 8GB 2X4GB DDR3-1600 CL9-9-9-24 Memory
XFX Radeon HD 6870 900MHZ 1GB 4.2GHZ GDDR5 2xDVI HDMI 2x Mini DisplayPort PCI-E Video Card
Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 500GB 3.5IN 16MB Cache SATA3 Internal Hard Disk Drive HDD
ASUS M5A97 AMD970/SB950 ATX AM3+ DDR3 2PCI-E16 2PCI-E1 SATA3 USB3.0 Audio CrossFireX Motherboard
Corsair Cooling Hydro Series H40 High Performance CPU Cooler System LGA1366 1155 AM3 120mm Fan
OCZ ZT Series 550W ATX12V 20/24PIN Modular 80+ Bronze Active
ASUS DRW-24B1ST 24X SATA DVD Writer OEM
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2012, 07:33 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,728

My System Specs

Default

Is this the system in your sig?

First question would be if you did a Cmos reset or not, and if you're using a modular PSU did you check both ends of the cable?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2012, 08:14 PM
wirerogue's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 141

My System Specs

Default

regarding your h40, assuming you ever make it into your bios, if you are using a motherboard header to run the pump, make sure pwm in the bios is off. or try splitting the power off a molex connector. if that doesn't work, rma.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2012, 08:18 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Lindsay, ON
Posts: 43

My System Specs

Default

The system is the one above in blue font.

I double checked the power cables, even unplugged and replugged em in. They are all going in the correct direction. I jumped the CMOS but I am still unable to even get anything to appear on my monitor. I have the monitor plugged in via HDMI.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2012, 09:00 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,407

My System Specs

Default

if it were me I would pull every thing including the cpu to make sure that everything is seated right also check the cpu pins but more then likely the cpu it self isn't seated properly. but before you check all of that I would pull the ram and only put in one stick and then reseat the videocard and also make sure that you have a speaker ( or what ever it is called ) attached to the motherboard to see if you get any beep codes
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2012, 09:23 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Lindsay, ON
Posts: 43

My System Specs

Default

Good news

I took it all apart, and put it all back together again (except for the CPU), and it works now !!!! Though i still dont know specifically what was causing the issue.

Im currently installing windows and am hoping everything goes smooth here on out.

The only issue that remains is the H40 noise. Is the general consensus just RMA it?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2012, 10:09 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,658
Default

give the loop a couple of days. It can take a day or two to work air bubbles and crap around to be quiet.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2012, 10:56 PM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

How do you have the radiator on the h40 oriented? I think the best way is to have the tubing on the bottom so that the little air pocket that is inherent in those closed loop coolers stays at the top of the rad and won't recirculate. Like this
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2012, 10:57 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Lindsay, ON
Posts: 43

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wirerogue View Post
regarding your h40, assuming you ever make it into your bios, if you are using a motherboard header to run the pump, make sure pwm in the bios is off. or try splitting the power off a molex connector. if that doesn't work, rma.
In regards to the h40, I am using a motherboard header, CPU_FAN. I have disabled ASUS Q-FAN, is that the equivalent to pwm in this board? Should the CPU_FAN be going at full bore in order to give the pump the power it requires?

I would try and split the power off of a molex but I have no idea on how to perform such a task.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2012, 12:05 AM
wirerogue's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 141

My System Specs

Default

disabling q-fan should be the equivalent of disabling pwm.

the pumps in those things are not variable speed. they should be going at a fixed speed all the time.

my h70 pump runs at 1400 rpms. i'm not positive what the h40 speed should be. i do know that if it runs too fast or too slow, it can create alot grinding noise.

yours was pretty loud, it may be a problem beyond just the correct pump speed.

to answer your other question regarding splitting off the molex


Last edited by wirerogue; October 16, 2012 at 12:15 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems with Corsair Stock fans? Silent_Avenger Air Cooling 10 February 10, 2012 11:32 PM
Corsair PSU Noise Astaroth Power Supplies 8 March 3, 2011 12:41 AM
120v outlet filter for noise, such a thing? (popping noise from speakers) On2wheels Troubleshooting 3 June 20, 2010 09:06 PM
GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L + 4GB CORSAIR XMS2 PROBLEMS FLIPSIDE Troubleshooting 8 July 14, 2009 10:45 AM
Corsair HX 1000W rattling noise? What can I do about this? appplejack Troubleshooting 3 May 12, 2009 10:52 AM