Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 13, 2012, 09:28 AM
southbay's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Scotland
Posts: 56

My System Specs

Default G-Skill Sniper!

Hey there folks.
I built my computer about this time last year and I wanted to add an additional 8gb of ram.
I currently have 8gb of g-skill sniper 2x4gb low voltage 1.25v. I figured I'd buy the same ram and put that in but my computer doesn't boot properly. I tried it without the new ram and it booted perfectly but with the new ram on its' own it doesn't want to boot properly and the red dram light is on all the time.
I really don't know what else to do so any answers would be great!
I have a feeling it's a bios issue but I'm unsure.
__________________

Corsair 550d
Intel i5 Quad Core 2500k @4ghz
GTX 570
Asus
Corsair HX 750W
G.Skill sniper 2x4GB
OCZ Agility Series 60GB SSD
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 13, 2012, 09:45 AM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

Just install one stick from the new memory kit and see if it boots, remove it and try the second stick. This will test to see if both new sticks are good.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 13, 2012, 11:06 AM
southbay's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Scotland
Posts: 56

My System Specs

Default

Both new sticks don't work... I tried this already :P
__________________

Corsair 550d
Intel i5 Quad Core 2500k @4ghz
GTX 570
Asus
Corsair HX 750W
G.Skill sniper 2x4GB
OCZ Agility Series 60GB SSD
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 13, 2012, 11:27 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by southbay View Post
Both new sticks don't work... I tried this already :P
Then its the memory not the board.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 13, 2012, 11:57 AM
southbay's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Scotland
Posts: 56

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
Then its the memory not the board.
What I don't understand is what's wrong with them?
__________________

Corsair 550d
Intel i5 Quad Core 2500k @4ghz
GTX 570
Asus
Corsair HX 750W
G.Skill sniper 2x4GB
OCZ Agility Series 60GB SSD
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 13, 2012, 12:04 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,970
Default

yes check bios for current is M5A99X EVO BIOS 1503 date 2012.10.11

NOTE read all about flashing bios before attempting or end up with a paper weight
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2012, 02:50 AM
southbay's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Scotland
Posts: 56

My System Specs

Default

Resolved. Updated my bios via ASUS suite and it booted perfectly. No more crashing.
__________________

Corsair 550d
Intel i5 Quad Core 2500k @4ghz
GTX 570
Asus
Corsair HX 750W
G.Skill sniper 2x4GB
OCZ Agility Series 60GB SSD

Last edited by southbay; October 14, 2012 at 08:22 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 18, 2012, 08:29 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 9
Default

Nice that you have it figured.
I am about to suggest using memtest for your additional RAM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I7-920 G1 Sniper Jaydu Price Check 4 February 26, 2012 07:32 PM
[FS] FS: Gigabyte G1.Sniper 2 Eldonko Buy/Sell & Trade 9 September 9, 2011 11:33 AM
G.Skill Launches Its New Sniper Memory Series Aimed at PC Gamers and Modders FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 6 March 23, 2011 07:10 AM
CM Haf or CM Storm Sniper BE ezytgr Cases 15 March 26, 2010 11:51 AM
[WTB] Looking for 200MM CM Sniper Fan xXxRithxXx Buy/Sell & Trade 10 April 15, 2009 09:14 PM