Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2012, 04:44 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 306

My System Specs

Default New MB and CPU and problems

So I got a new MB and CPU and hooked it up to the old system going from a 1366 board/chip to a 1155 board/chip. I only hooked up the SSD and the ODD to see how things went and I got :

reboot & select proper boot drive.

I put the windows disk in but it wants to install like a new version of windows over the existing one and I don't want to do that.

I checked the bios and it says ACHI and the SSD is the 1st disk it looks at but somehow things aren't gee-hawing (southern for it aint working). Windows is on that drive and with the windows disk in there was a repair option and that didn't seem to do anything. I could get to a dos prompt and I notice an X drive. Not sure where that came from but I can get to the C drive and see stuff.

not sure what do next.

maybe it is drivers? Should I use Qflash from BIOS to update drivers? Or where should I go from here?

Gigabyte board, everything in the BIOS looks good. RAM looks good, CPU stuff looks good.

stumped here
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2012, 04:49 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,797

My System Specs

Default

You're trying to boot off of the new motherboard without having to reload windows? Silly question, but did you try booting without the windows disk in the ODD?

Was the previous install done AHCI or was it in IDE mode? If it was in IDE mode I'm not sure if you'll be able to get it to boot unless you switch to ide mode and then do the AHCI reg hack (google is your friend).
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2012, 05:11 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 306

My System Specs

Default

yeah the first boot was without the windows disk. no joy.

I don't think it was with this computer but I will try to change it to IDE and see if that works. I have the IDE to ACHI switch instructions because I muff that up on another computer.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2012, 05:19 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 306

My System Specs

Default

tried switching to IDE and that didn't help. still get reboot message.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2012, 05:31 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

weird i have done this many times on so many pc's aslong as it's 7 it has always booted for me first time then you just run driver sweeper to remove all your old drivers then install new ones and your off in fact i did it today with the new lappie i just bought
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2012, 05:44 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,797

My System Specs

Default

Did you try it with just the OS boot disk plugged in?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2012, 06:35 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 306

My System Specs

Default

Just tried it with only the SSD connected (which has win 7-64 on it) and no joy. same thing. reboot & select proper boot drive.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 13, 2012, 01:00 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 306

My System Specs

Default

well I ended up just reinstalling windows. thanks for trying guys.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 13, 2012, 01:03 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,797

My System Specs

Default

Yeah, not much else you could try. You checked all of the easy things.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
More problems...yay... Lpfan4ever HardwareCanucks F@H Team 3 February 6, 2011 11:02 AM
ATI wu problems Shredder HardwareCanucks F@H Team 0 January 28, 2010 09:03 AM
mic problems Samael Audio 12 March 18, 2009 01:44 AM
LCD problems Kilauea Mobile Computing 4 July 24, 2008 07:57 AM
Help Please (2 problems) AnthraxAdrian Troubleshooting 20 April 27, 2008 12:34 PM