Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2012, 06:45 PM
grinder's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 831

My System Specs

Default

eww, havent seen that before. Batteries are a consumable item tho. Should be able to get them from your local APC re seller, i think that's an RBC09 if i recall.
__________________
Phenom II 945 :: ASUS M4A78-E (780G) :: BFG 285GTX :: 4GB Mushkin DDR2 (5-4-4-12) :: Creative Xi-Fi :: Seagate 500 gig 7200.12 (better than WD BLACK!!!!!) :: Samsung 2493HM
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2012, 07:44 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,228

My System Specs

Default

Heh, well there's your problem!

:)

-ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old October 11, 2012, 09:52 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cambridge, ON.
Posts: 504
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by t0m View Post
so we finally got to the part where tech support asks me to pull the battery and verify that its properly connected. i pulled it out and the side fell off i sent him this picture and he mailed me back and asked me what the lcd said
Opps!
__________________
Cambridge,ON
MSI Z77 M Power/Bios17.12
3770K@4.5ghz
Mushkin #997007
Noctua NH-D14
Gigabyte GTX 660
Seasonic X-660
Corsair 540 Cube
Noctua case fans
Intel SSD
Win 10 Pro x64




Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old October 11, 2012, 10:27 AM
Dead Things's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Centre of the Universe
Posts: 1,962

My System Specs

Default

That's what I would call a not-so-sealed lead acid battery!

Anyway, I actually just replaced the batteries in my BackUPS XS 1300 - got the UBC109 from upsforless.ca, which somebody suggested earlier in this thread. Cost was about $60-ish for both batteries after tax and shipping.
__________________
Think you can overclock? Then show us what you got!
Join the Hardware Canucks Overclocking team today!

Follow my benching, folding, mining and miscellaneous shenanigans @dt_oc
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old October 11, 2012, 11:37 AM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,070

My System Specs

Default

I'm going to cry the day my UPS batteries die... I think there are 12 to replace if I recall correctly.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old October 24, 2012, 05:22 PM
t0m's Avatar
t0m t0m is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: bc
Posts: 292

My System Specs

Default

ok final update on this...i ordered from upsforless and it arrived in a timely fashion and is installed and working now. thanks Soultribunal for the offer, and thanks for all the other tips. you folks are the best.
__________________
nothing left and nothing right
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old October 24, 2012, 07:30 PM
botat29's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 830
Default

Tom, nice to give us feedback.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old October 25, 2012, 05:22 AM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,228

My System Specs

Default

Excellent! Good stuff mate :)

-ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2018, 08:40 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by t0m View Post
i have an apc back-UPS xs 1500 ups and i noticed today that the battery indicator is empty/flashing. i cycled through the displays and its reading 0 minutes of battery backup time as well. a bit of google indicates that the battery is shot and most of the posts recommend 'taking it to a service center'. im pretty much positive this thing is way out of warranty, and i live out in the middle of nowhere (not likely near a service center). the other display functions are still working (input/output/load etc). windows reports that "This device is working properly." in its properties panel as well.

so two questions:

-im not too concerned about battery backup time. i got this for line conditioning in an old crappy apartment i lived in with shaky power. with an apparently dead battery, this thing isnt really doing anything in terms of conditioning right now is it?

-is there any risk in continuing to use it like this? its not hot or anything, but its got my new computer plugged into it and its not working right...kind of making me wonder if i should just use a regular power bar for now until i can replace it or fix it.

thanks for any input
If the ups is under warranty and it is an APC battery backup, it carries a 3 year warranty from the time it's registered. Being that as it may, they will send you a battery for free as it's still under warranty. Mine died today, so I called APC and they asked me for the serial number of the unit and the model number. They are sending me a new battery and will be here in 7 days. He had me do some troubleshooting and he said since it's showing the load meter, it isn't the battery backup. Once the battery arrives, I'll install it and dispose of the battery according to their instructions. But I would call the manufacturer and give them the model number and serial number, and they will tell you if it is of isn't under warranty. And even if it is out of warranty, they will tell you the price of the battery. Just order it, install it, and it will take 24-48 hours before the backup recognizes the battery, and calibrate it. Hope this helps you.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2018, 08:55 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by t0m View Post
yeah this one goes to battery whenever the lights even flicker for a second, thats why im a bit worried about using it with dead batteries (happens a lot here). what do the batteries in these usually cost to replace in your experience? i sent apc a support msg on their site. should hear back tomorrow at some point hopefully.


thanks for your help so far



nothing will happen if you use a battery backup if you have a bad battery. You devices just won't stay on when you lose power. I had to call APC and replace my battery under warranty today. My battery wasn't being detected by the battery backup. They said since thw load was being detected, it wasn't the battery backup. But he did say that once I get it, the tech said it will take 24-48 hours before the backup sees it and recalibrate the battery. So call the manufacturer, give them the model number and serial number, they can tell you if it's under warranty. If it is they'll just send you one free of charge. If it's not, they will tell you what a battery costs for your unit.

Hope this helps you.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Charging problems Skozaa Troubleshooting 3 March 22, 2012 11:48 AM
Plugged in, not charging punk_zappa Troubleshooting 8 September 3, 2011 12:22 AM
Shaw charging overages, Telus is not - on CTV news. ipaine Networking 64 January 30, 2011 05:34 PM