Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2012, 07:03 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 306

My System Specs

Default Gigabyte boot loop on older computer

So I built this computer 2 years ago and I have not had any problems although I am aware of some people having boot loop issues with other Gigabyte boards.

This is the system:

Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-X58A-UDR3 ver 2.0
Processor
Intel i-7-930
Memory
Corsair Dominator RAM TR3X6G1600C8D
Video Card(s)
Gigabyte GTX460
Hard Drive(s)
OCZ 60 GB SSD
WD 1 TB HDD
Optical Drive(s)
LG Blue Ray Writer and Lite-on DVD Writer
Case
Cooler Master HAF X
Power Supply
Corsair HX750
Sound Card
none yet
Monitor
Hanns-G HZ251 25 inch 1080p HD monitor
Operating System
Win 7 64 Home Premium
The computer has been working fine for 2 years but yesterday I powered it on and it would cycle on and off in 1 second intervals. Power on, fans spin, shut down, power on, fans spin, shut down, etc. It never gets to the BIOS or windows.

I have disconnect the powersupply and drained residual power by holding the power button - no effect
I have pressed the clear CMOS button on the board - no effect
I have removed the CMOS battery for 20 minutes - no effect

Any other bright ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2012, 07:11 AM
Master_Shake_'s Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 125

My System Specs

Default

try one stick of memory, could be a bad dimm...

theres no reason why it shouldn't post if its been working for 2 years.

do you have another video card you could try?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2012, 07:27 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 306

My System Specs

Default

I could try the 1 stick of RAM but I dont think it is a RAM issue. I have a feeling it is a BIOS issue. Word on the web is the boot loop is from a difference in the primary BIOS and the backup BIOS but seems never to have been an issue for me and I have not made any changes to the computer.

I don't have a second video card but I could pull the video card and just use the chip video off the motherboard, but I dont' think it is video card related since it never gets to the POST stage
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2012, 07:32 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,643

My System Specs

Default

That board does not have onboard video.

Either dead: board, PSU or CPU. But definitely try a single stick first.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2012, 10:38 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 306

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
That board does not have onboard video.

Either dead: board, PSU or CPU. But definitely try a single stick first.
opps must have confused it with my 1155 boards
Tried 1 stick of RAM (and different ones)
same issue
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2012, 04:38 PM
Nodscene's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 960
Default

You can keep trying but eventually the board will die or will just continue to loop forever. Wish I could give some good advice but I went through the same issue with my GB board and eventually it just refused to boot into windows anymore no matter how many times I tried. I wasted days trying to fix the issue but it's a known issue with GB boards and they refuse to acknowlege/fix it. Thankfully I had an Intel Bad Axe2 that I put in and still works perfectly to this day (although I just retired it as I bought a new system). And no, I didn't go back to a GB board.
__________________

Create something idiot proof and they will make a better idiot.
_____________________________________

Intel Q6600 - Gigabyte EP35-DS4 - OCZ Reaper 4gig PC2-6400 - XFX 8800GT 512Mb Alpha Dog - AuzenTech X-Fi Prelude - Alesis M1Active MK2 - Corsair HX-620 - Silverstone Temjin TJ05B-X - Scythe Katana 2 - WD Raptor 150Gb - Seagate 7200.11 750Gb x2 - Samsung SH-S203N
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2012, 04:21 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 306

My System Specs

Default

So I am thinking, new board and keep the 1366 i7 chip or new board (1155) and new chip? Pros / Cons? Kind of like a rabbit hole. If I get a new board and chip, I could get a new case, and if I got a new case . . . . . ...
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2012, 08:06 AM
Nodscene's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 960
Default

Depending what you are doing with your new computer it may not be worth upgrading. In day to day surfing, Office stuff etc I frankly didn't notice a huge difference between my Q6600 and i5 3570k (both comps had/have ssd's). It's only when I'm doing encoding or forensic work that the horsepower really makes a difference.
__________________

Create something idiot proof and they will make a better idiot.
_____________________________________

Intel Q6600 - Gigabyte EP35-DS4 - OCZ Reaper 4gig PC2-6400 - XFX 8800GT 512Mb Alpha Dog - AuzenTech X-Fi Prelude - Alesis M1Active MK2 - Corsair HX-620 - Silverstone Temjin TJ05B-X - Scythe Katana 2 - WD Raptor 150Gb - Seagate 7200.11 750Gb x2 - Samsung SH-S203N
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2012, 09:37 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 306

My System Specs

Default

looking on newegg there are 3 1366 boards available the cheapest $230, they have over 230 1155 boards and 74 Z77 boards with lower prices but I'll have to get a new cpu . . . seems like more choices in the 1155 boards. thinking hard . . . .
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Boot loop Dx10fly Troubleshooting 6 August 6, 2012 05:39 AM
Older Computer parts coriolis Price Check 8 November 27, 2011 10:29 AM
Daughters Getting Older Need Help - Need computer loggin software or something! trayton O/S's, Drivers & General Software 23 August 22, 2011 12:04 PM
[WTB] Cheap older computers and computer parts netforce Buy/Sell & Trade 11 June 5, 2009 01:37 PM
Windows XP endless boot loop Wolfx25 Troubleshooting 13 December 29, 2008 10:03 AM