Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old September 16, 2012, 04:23 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,880

My System Specs

Default

If I was to guess it sound like the power supply to me, but I read in your first post that you tried a new one. Realistically you have swapped everything (from what I have read) except for the CPU and ram...Try one stick of ram at a time to see if one of them is failing you. If you still have have the problem after trying both sticks separatly, then it must be the cpu.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old September 16, 2012, 05:50 PM
wirerogue's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 139

My System Specs

Default

does the problem only occur at her place and not at yours, sounds like she may have some faulty wiring.

i had a similar problem in one room of my old house.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2012, 03:23 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 5
Default

Strangely, after removing the board from the case, and running the whole setup on a cardboard box, the problems seems to have gone away. I can't see the issue in the case (if something was touching the backside of the mobo).

Now everything is back in and I can't make it fail again... what a strange problem.

Can a grounding issue be the source of all my problems?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2012, 03:25 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,079

My System Specs

Default

Absolutely.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2012, 05:23 PM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,728

My System Specs

Default

may have been a small burr on the mobo tray that got dislodged when you removed it or a screw or one of many things.. Even poorly lined up to the mounts can do it, especially with some motherboards with not allot of room around the mount points.

I would hold onto it for a few more days and test it randomly (reboot, turn off, start, stress etc) just to be sure..
Generally a customer will be happier waiting a little longer but getting it back 100% working than having any problems flare-up soon after.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2012, 07:19 PM
Silent_Avenger's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 472

My System Specs

Default

Yup grounding issues can definitely cause your symptoms. I would do what Dzzope suggested and hold onto it for a few more days to test it some more. Also once turning it off you should move it around a bit(as if you were going to transport it) just to make sure nothing becomes loose and cause those symptoms all over again.
__________________
Main System //// Dedicated Folding PC 1 //// Dedicated Folding PC 2 //// Laptop

Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/DarkDivinityPC

I fold for a cure. Team 213366 and 54196.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Weird cold boot issue - Please help diagnose xinhang Troubleshooting 9 November 23, 2010 06:53 PM
New Build- Corsair 800D --> My cleanest build ever. Watercooled btdvox Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 28 May 11, 2010 01:07 PM
How to diagnose seagate 5400.3 Bomberman07 Storage 0 May 4, 2009 06:38 PM
Windows 7 Build 7000 VS Windows XP SP3 Build 2600 Benchmarks Veritas Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 3 March 3, 2009 01:48 PM
Critique my gaming build build 1080p New Builds 10 January 14, 2009 03:18 PM