Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2012, 01:55 PM
Socrates_Johnston's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Waterloo
Posts: 284

My System Specs

Default Dead Motherboard on older system?

Hi all.

My bros computer recently went to sleep, and was not able to power-up afterwards. A hard-reset did nothing either.

So i dismantled the computer to begin troubleshooting. After cleaning and resetting all hardware I attempted to boot and nothing happens. The motherboard is receiving power, as the green LED is lit. I began to remove all non-essential components leaving only the CPU and 1 memory stick. After testing all memory slots with the single stick and another stick I tried another PSU but with no success...

Has the motherboard died? It's an older computer and was incredibly dusty when i opened it up.

System:
Asus P5Q-e
q6600
gtx275
4gb muskin blackline pc2-8500
WD velociraptor 150gb

Thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2012, 02:00 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,066

My System Specs

Default

You probably did this but just for giggles, did you yank the battery for your hard reset? (I'm going to assume yes, but still gotta ask).

Otherwise if you have taken it to that level of a single stick, different PSU and such that does sound like the board is done I'm afraid.

At least to me,

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2012, 02:01 PM
Socrates_Johnston's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Waterloo
Posts: 284

My System Specs

Default

the cmos battery? i did not, but am trying that right now...

EDIT: Huzzah! it worked!

I've read that the P5Q-E has had difficulties with sleep/wake functionality. time for a bios update...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2012, 03:03 PM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,764

My System Specs

Default

Ahh the magic BIOS reset..

That was quite the system a few years back.. Good to see it's still going strong. :) (well after a BIOS re-set)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2012, 03:10 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,092

My System Specs

Default

Invest in a new Battery ?? myght be failing causing the problem ?? check voltage on battery see how low it is.
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2012, 04:19 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,066

My System Specs

Default

Yeah ZZLEE doesn't have a bad idea on replacing that battery just for the sake of it.
Its not just those boards, I had some AM3 GB boards that had problems with sleep mode as well, BIOS updates tended to fix it.

Good to see it worked!

-ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2012, 04:27 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,911

My System Specs

Default

Good call on the battery. Not something I would have initially thought of. Definitely replace it while your at it.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Older quad system clone63 Price Check 1 April 21, 2012 11:00 AM
Motherboard Dead? SneakySnake Troubleshooting 4 January 30, 2011 11:57 AM
dead motherboard? phantom_jo Troubleshooting 3 July 28, 2009 10:42 AM
Need assistance for my older system!! p3dro Troubleshooting 11 February 11, 2009 01:34 PM
older motherboard and cpu hungry1 CPU's and Motherboards 2 February 3, 2009 12:32 PM